Wrapping up May 2017 (and a half-hearted promise that I’ll be blogging more frequently)

As I mentioned in my monthly synopsis for April 2017, blogging inactivity is to be expected because of college finals, among other academic requirements for the semester. I’d elaborate on the kind of month-long hell I had to go through, but at this point, I just want to put all of that behind me so let’s not even go there. What matters is that I survived, and I’m still here, writing to all of you.

But I digress. Here’s another really pitiful monthly synopsis of my blogging!

What I’ve read and reviewed!

What I’ve read but have yet to review!

  • The Coffee Cries Foul by Ymatruz

What I’ve seen around!

Posts, writeups and discussions from other bloggers I think are worth reading. Check these out!

Book reviews:

Film reviews:

Poetry:

Write-ups and discussions:

Plans for next month?

You’d think that after experiencing an exhausting college semester, I’d want nothing more than a two-month vacation. Nope. Some time ago, I’ve learned that I get extremely bored easily — that no amount of leisure can really fix. I’ve realized that I would rather keep myself busy than spend long durations of time remaining idle. With that said, I’m planning to take midyear classes this June! A midyear term usually lasts around seven weeks, if I’m not mistaken. Which means next month and until the end of July, I’ll be plowing my way through another mountain of academic requirements.

On the bright side, the allowable workload for a midyear term is, at most, six units. That’s basically two classes. Compared to a regular semester, the workload is significantly lighter and more manageable. The only downside to the midyear term is that classes run from Monday to Friday; meanwhile, during a regular semester, classes are usually Tuesday to Friday. But I digress.

The point is, I’ll still be studying but I’m pretty confident that I’ll have more free time on my hands. Seriously, I cannot express how much I love midyear classes because I can chill and still perform well.

However, I still can’t commit to blogging frequently. I mean, I have stuff outside of college, too! And to be fully honest, I want to maximize the amount of rest I can have, socialize a bit more, and catch up on the many, many series I’ve been missing out on. Oh and write more poetry. I haven’t written a poem in over a month!!! Define frustrating.

This does not mean that I won’t do my best to blog every now and then. That Bookshelf Bitch is still my little lovechild, and I’d be damned if I’d give up on it now. Plus, I really miss blogging! I have so many ideas that I don’t have the time to jot down and to shape into actual outputs.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is: here’s a halfhearted promise that I’ll be blogging more this coming June! Wish me luck, yeah?

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchTumblrInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

17 thoughts on “Wrapping up May 2017 (and a half-hearted promise that I’ll be blogging more frequently)”

  1. That’s awesome that you’re taking classes in the summer, and I wish you all the best with trying to balance all of your commitments. I’d say become best friends with the schedule button because it might make blogging easier for you.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

  2. Luck wished, first of all.
    Second of all, can I just say that I loved this post? I love that you do a monthly round-up, so to speak, and share so many posts that you enjoyed and how you organized it. This post alone must have taken ages to finish. I dunno if I could ever do something so organized and wicked sweet, but if I ever tried to mimic such a post, would you be okay if I did that (and linked back to you and gushed about your awesome blog for a paragraph, of course)? No promises saying I’d actually be able to do it, but I just think the concept is super neat and I love how it highlights other bloggers you’ve appreciated.
    Anyway, continue to enjoy life and I hope you find a healthy balance between all of your commitments! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, hey, thanks! You’re really sweet. 💕

      I don’t think you need to credit me or anything because I think other bloggers have had the same idea, tbh. But if you want to use the same format I have (and maybe even use the post header), why not? Go for it! It’s always wonderful to take the time to give fellow bloggers the appreciation and recognition they deserve. 😊

      Composing the post only takes an hour or two, really. What I do is, I save/bookmark posts that I’ve read within the month and want to highlight by the end of said month. Then I just insert the links to my wrap-up post and yay, it’s finished! Maybe that would be more efficient for you too. 😊 Anyway, it’s totally up to you! But I’m hoping you do give it a shot some time. Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, congratulations on graduating! 🎉 I’m going to sound like an old woman, but I’m actually really curious about what you plan to take up for college. What degree program are you going for? 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

