Wrapping up April 2017 (and why you should expect more blog inactivity)

And just like that, April is already drawing to a bittersweet close. I describe it as bittersweet because April has been an unbelievably hectic month for me, and I cannot be happier to rid myself of it. However, the incoming month promises to be a lot busier and perhaps even crazier. What with it being the last leg of my college semester and all. But I’ll elaborate on this later on.

My wrap-up post for April 2017 will most likely be shorter and less substantial than my previous monthly synopsis for March 2017 because — cue dramatic pause — I’ve blogged even less frequently this time around. Yep, given my prolonged inactivity, I didn’t think this was possible either.

What I’ve read and reviewed!

Oh, hey! I was able to post two book reviews this month. That’s like two more than March. Insert self-deprecating laugh here.

Whoops. Without further ado:

What I’ve read but have yet to review!

  • In My Dreams by Yeyet Soriano
  • Tell Me a Story by Tamara Lush

What I’ve written!

Under Shealea writes:

  • Poetic Attempt: Twenty-one (First of Her Name, Breaker of Norms)

What I’ve seen around!

Posts, writeups and discussions from other bloggers I think are worth reading. Check these out!

Book reviews:

Poetry:

Write-ups and discussions:

Plans for next month?

What are my plans for May? It seems the universe has decided for me. May is the last month of my fourth year, second semester which means final projects, final exams, and the last batch of deadly deadlines I have to deal with. Busy, busy, busy.

I do have a couple of blog tours lined up for the month, but other than those, expect extremely minor blog activity from me. Just typing that last sentence makes me very sad. But don’t let my prolonged hiatus bring you down! Let me know what’s going on with you and what your plans are for May 2017. I’d really love to know.

Cheers!

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchTumblrInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

37 thoughts on “Wrapping up April 2017 (and why you should expect more blog inactivity)”

  1. Thanks for sharing my ProjectReadathon post! I am actually amazed you still find time for blogging despite acads. And here I am, still struggling to keep my blog alive and I can barely afford to write only one post a month. Hahahaha. Anyway, 3 weeks (?) until end of classes, goodluck sa hell week(s)! Last push!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We make time for the things (and people, hihi) we love. Jk. HAHAHAHA, I don’t quite understand it either, but I’m always exhausted by the time I get to bed.

      Anyway, thank you for the much needed encouragement!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Shealea my friend! How are you?
    Thank you so much for sharing my post! That’s so kind of you and I really appreciate it. ❤
    It sounds like May is going to be a busy month for the both of us. I have so many assignments and seminars coming up and I'm freaking out!! BUT, we'll both get through it and come out on top. ❤ Regardless, good luck for May!! You'll do amazing. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m doing great. Constantly exhausted, but great nonetheless. I’m honestly just counting down the days before my semester officially ends!

      Wow, that sounds really exciting, though! It does sound a bit overwhelming, but I’m sure you’ll manage just fine. You always do. Haha. Anyway, thank you! Good luck with everything as well!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks Tasya! Crossing my fingers that I’ll survive the next month. 😭 Have fun going through the links! I love featuring other bloggers. It’s always refreshing to read other voices. 😊

      Like

    1. Oh my, I hope you’re doing okay. 😞 I can completely relate to the idea of using poetry as a creative outlet for feelings. That’s actually what pushed me to start writing poetry again about a year ago.

      This might be a rather small consolation but: you write so beautifully and eloquently! I’ve read so many of your works, and I even started following your blog. HAHA. Definitely a fan, and I hope the next poems you write will speak of happier experiences. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I’m definitely trying to write more, but isn’t it always the case when you are down and out that the emotions flow so quickly and so much easier? I feel like I’ve finally emptied my reserves and am at that stage of numbness and hopelessness, but I’m hoping I can pull something out of that and use it for creative purposes. Onward and upward! 🙂

        Like

    1. Oh, I’m sorry for the mistake, but it’s great to meet you, Janet! Your blog is lovely so far, and I’m excited to see the direction you’ll steer it towards. Good luck and welcome to the blogging community! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. All the best, Shealea! I love your monthly wrap-ups! They really help me find new bloggers! 💛And your poem ‘First of her Name, Breaker of Norms’ was simply BEAUTIFUL. I CAN’T EVEN DESCRIBE THE FEELING IN WORDS. SO SO AMAZING. AGAIN, I HOPE TO READ YOUR POETRY BOOK ONE DAY! 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you! I used to find monthly wrap-ups tedious to write until I started using it as an opportunity to shed a bit of spotlight on other bloggers! It’s always wonderful to stumble across fresh voices in the community, and I really enjoy reading other people’s works — especially their poetry. 😊 I’m glad you appreciate them too!

      I hope to find enough inspiration to be able to write a book’s worth of poetry. 😂 You’re too sweet! I like reading your pieces as well. I just tend to forget to comment but once the semester is over, hopefully I’ll be able to start commenting more again.

      Like

Your two cents?

