Wrapping up March 2017 (and re: Shealea joined a poetry-writing competition)

Hello there! It’s nearly two weeks into the month of April, and I’ve only had the time to wrap up last month now (what with this week being Holy Week and all). Things have been incredibly exhausting and insanely hectic lately, and as such, I’ve been left with little to no room to write for the sake of writing (as opposed to writing for the completion of academic requirements).

I think it’s pretty obvious that I failed to anticipate the sudden increase in deadlines and college work, which would explain the gradual decline of my online presence and activity here in my blog. It’s sad, really, because I was very motivated to publish a lot of fresh content and to write unapologetically. But life doesn’t make adjustments for anyone. I’m the one who’s tasked with the obligation to learn how to adapt.

I’m incoherently babbling, sorry. Let’s proceed with the wrapping up part of this post!

What I’ve read and reviewed!

Unfortunately, I failed to write and to post any reviews for the month of March. As sad as it is to admit, I was far too busy trying to save myself from drowning in deadlines – both in my studies and in my org work. On a slightly brighter note, I did have a but of time to read new books. I was able to read a total of six books! Most of them are short reads and poetry books, but hey, it’s still something.

What I’ve read but have yet to review!

  • That Thing Between Eli & Gwen by J.J. McAvoy
  • Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately by Alicia Cook
  • I Love My Love Reyna Biddy
  • A Wicked Desire by T.S. Huxley
  • Better At Weddings Than You by Mina V. Esguerra
  • All That Glitters by Ines Bautista-Yao

What I’ve written!

Under Shealea reacts:

Under Shealea struggles:

Under Shealea writes:

Under Miscellaneous:

Under Guest posts:

What I’ve seen around!

Posts, writeups and discussions from other bloggers I think are worth reading. Check these out!

Book reviews:

Poetry:

Write-ups and discussions:

Plans for this month?

Before we talk about my plans for the next half of this month, let’s first talk about the poetry-writing competition I participated in. I mentioned it in an earlier post, but here’s a quick recap: It’s an online competition organized by a college sorority, and the contest’s name is Sandaang Salita Mula kay Leona, which translates to “100 words from Leona”. For this year, the theme was “Babae, paano ka nagtatagumpay?” (translation: “Woman, how do you triumph?”).

Anyway, the announcement of winners was done last March 31. I am extremely pleased (and high-key proud) to say that I placed first runner-up!!! Aside from finishing second, I also received the People’s Choice Award. You can view the other winners and awards on their Facebook page.

I’m honestly not much of a poet, and I’ve never really felt confident about my writing. Whenever I decide to show someone else my work, I freak out internally because I get really, really insecure and embarrassed. This is the first poetry-writing competition I’ve joined (at least, after high school), and personally, it’s a small milestone for me as well.

With that said, I’d like to take a moment to thank everyone for supporting me! As for the piece I submitted, I tweeted a copy of the poem, so you can view it there. I will also be posting the piece — entitled First of Her Name, Breaker of Norms — here on the blog by next week! Again, thank you so much!

Now, with regards to the my plans for April 2017, my posts will probably be very sporadic — few and far in between, to be specific. I am currently on my last leg for this current semester, which means the deadlines I have to work on bear so much more weight on my academic standing. I don’t plan on going on an official hiatus, but my blogging activity will be extremely limited so as to keep me focused on my primary priorities. Having said that, I can’t really promise much. For now, you can expect a couple of reviews of #romanceclass titles soon! Specifically, Better At Weddings Than You by Mina Esguerra (which I absolutely adored) and All That Glitters by Ines Bautista-Yao (which was fun to read).

What about you? Let me know in the comments below! I’d love to hear about how your March went and what you hope to do this April.

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchTumblrInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

3 thoughts on “Wrapping up March 2017 (and re: Shealea joined a poetry-writing competition)”

Your two cents?

