Life and oh, Shealea joins a poetry-writing competition!

Hello, everyone! It’s been an incredibly long while since I last did an update post regarding my personal life. While I know rambling about the happenings in Shealea’s life doesn’t exactly fall under anyone’s reading interests, still, I say what the hell. It’s my blog, after all. Plus, I’m trying to procrastinate studying for my Friday exam, whoops.

Here we go.

I’d like to start with the most recent tidbit of information. I joined an online poetry-writing competition for the first time! This may not be as groundbreaking to any of you as it is to me on a personal level. See, the thing is: I’ve only started writing poetry again back in March 2016 (if I’m not mistaken). By the end of 2016, I was only able to finish an embarrassing handful of 10 poems – nothing worth bragging about, really.

Having said that, even though I share most of my poetic attempts here on my blog, I still tend to feel ridiculously insecure when it comes to sharing my work publicly, especially when the audience includes people I personally know. I have never found enough confidence to actually post my works on more personal social media platforms such as Facebook.

On the rare occasions I do decide to let personal friends read my work, I go through an elaborate, multi-step mental evaluation. I’m not even kidding. I consider factors like the nature of our friendship, how many poems have I asked them to read in the past, how long have we known each other, and the list goes on. This isn’t strictly limited to friends, though. I very rarely let the guy I’m dating (same, I don’t know why he likes me either) read my work, too – which, I think, mildly frustrates him every now and then. I get even more hesitant and paranoid when my poems are still drafts! It’s not a matter of distrust towards these people; it really just boils down to how insecure I am! In some way, my blog feels like a much safer bubble for my works, even though it’s irrational to think that way because technically speaking, my blog is a very public platform.

But I digress.

I never imagined that there would come a time when I’d actually summon the courage to submit one of my poems for a competition. It might be a small contest, but to me, it feels like a monumental milestone. I can’t thank my roommate enough for encouraging me to pursue this endeavor. I am genuinely proud of myself, and hopefully, this experience will instill in me a greater sense of self-confidence.

With all that said, before I continue with this post, I would like to ask for your support! According to the contest’s mechanics, the criteria for judging includes online reach in terms of the number of Facebook likes, shares and comments. If you’d like to support me and to help me win this competition, you can do so by following this link and liking/sharing/commenting on this photo! The title of my entry is First of Her Name, Breaker of Norms. If you did any of the following, let me know in the comments below so I can thank you profusely!

Now what else has happened so far in 2017?

Well, as I’ve mentioned, I’m currently dating someone – and no, as far as I know, he doesn’t have access to my blog either. As much as I’d like to write about him (because he is honestly all kinds of wonderful), I’ve never been one to disclose those kinds of details and I’m not entirely comfortable with the idea of doing so.

Perhaps the biggest and most relevant piece of news I can offer is the fact that I finally shifted out of engineering! Yep, yep. After three and a half years in the BS Chemical Engineering program, I have finally and officially left. No words to fully express how relieved I am, to be honest.

As of this semester, I am now a student of the College of Mass Communication(!!!). For more of my feels, kindly refer to this tweet. I’d give more detail, but I’ve come to realize that I seriously need to start becoming more academically productive. So I’m off to study!

Until next time!

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchTumblrInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

9 thoughts on “Life and oh, Shealea joins a poetry-writing competition!”

  1. Oh Shealea!! I totally understand that feeling you have when you want to share your poetry with the world but feel insecure! In fact, that is pretty much what sums up my poetic attempts. I try and then when I do get a poem, I simply feel that it is not ‘good enough’. It is indeed very strenuous and stressing. But, I do hope that I’ll get to read your poetry book one day ❤💃

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Poetry is such a subjective art that it’s difficult to know for sure if I’m doing it right or if what I’m writing is even worth reading. I definitely share the same sentiments you do, but I’m choosing to be optimistic. Let’s just keep writing! It’s really the only way for us to improve on our craft. And maybe, we’ll both have our own poetry books someday. 😊

      I’m really hoping that this contest works out though. I kind of need the self-esteem boost. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

