Wrapping up February 2017

Hello! Unfortunately, I was unable to do a wrap-up before February ended because lately, my weeks have been crammed with tons of events, college requirements and org responsibilities. I’d go into detail, but I know doing so will only bore you. Yep. But I’m here now, and I’m excited to go through a quick recap of my blog posts for the second month of 2017!

For the month of February, I read a total of seven books – including both novels and poetry collections. This is a remarkable increase compared to the two books I read back in January. I’m pretty happy about that. In terms of quality, however, I was largely disappointed and/or underwhelmed by most of these books. I’ll explain this further once I finish my reviews!

What I’ve read and reviewed!

Interestingly, my book review for Pillow Thoughts eventually became my first Shealea reacts post! I received a digital copy of the book because I was supposed to be a part of a promotional blog tour; however, I couldn’t, for the life and love of me, promote it. My reading experience with this poetry collection was so awful and scarring I couldn’t stop myself from ranting and to an extent, making fun of it. Writing my thoughts and comments down was extremely cathartic! As weird as it is, I’m happy with how the rant turned out. The finished output was a lot more cohesive and coherent than I thought it would be.

What I’ve read but have yet to review!

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (2nd read)
  • The Bye-Bye Bouquet by Chi Yu Rodriguez
  • Painting Sky by Rita Branches (2nd read)
  • Reaper by Lindsey Winsemius
  • Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

What I’ve written!

Under Shealea asks authors:

Under Shealea writes:

What I’ve seen around!

Posts, writeups and discussions from other bloggers I think are worth reading. Check these out!

Book reviews:

Poetry:

Write-ups and discussions:

Plans for this month?

In true un-Shealea fashion (seriously, this is so unlike me), I’ve already prepared a target lineup of posts for March – the keyword being “target” because preparing posts and actually writing posts are two completely different things that require different amounts of effort. Nevertheless, I’m feeling very optimistic and determined to make everything happen!

For one thing, I’m planning on posting film reviews on my blog! I am not sure if I mentioned this before, but I am currently taking a film class this semester. In Film 100, we are sometimes required to watch locally produced Filipino films and to write reviews for them. Honestly, I am not very good at it. I have never been perceptive when it comes to cinematography, acting and scoring. It’s not my habit to pay attention to details while watching movies.

Despite these things, I still want to share my thoughts and opinions on these films with all of you, even though they may not be as substantial as most movie critiques should be. Of course, I may have to edit and revise some of the content because sometimes, aside from the reviewing part, we’re given guide questions as well to include in our papers – which I don’t think will interest any of you. But I digress. Hopefully, by sharing them, I will find ways to improve the way I see and analyze films and to be able to express my sentiments more concisely and eloquently.

Also, and more importantly, I’ve absolutely adored all the required films I’ve watched thus far! I understand that currently, locally produced independent films are generally being overshadowed by the mainstream film industry, which is why I want to do what I can to support these indie filmmakers! It is incredibly humbling to see that there are conscious and concerted efforts to pull up the overall quality of Filipino films. Certainly, these smaller productions deserve all the support they can get!

With all that said, here’s a list of the Filipino films I’ve watched (and loved!!!) so far. Expect to read my reviews on them (hopefully) pretty soon. (Note: Not all of them are required for class.)

  • 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten (2016)
  • Baka Bukas (2016)
  • The Guerilla Is a Poet (2013)
  • I’m Drunk I Love You (2017)
  • Barber’s Tales (2013)
  • Saving Sally (2016)
  • Oro (2016)

There you have it. Let me know if any of these titles rings a bell! Oh and don’t be shy about sharing how your February went. I’d love to know!

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchTumblrInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

33 thoughts on “Wrapping up February 2017”

  1. Pursuant to our previous dialogue re: the problems of films in Southeast Asia (I think it was you whom I talked to about this in an earlier post of yours haha), I hope that your Film class takes a step away from films of those directions and have more substance to it than the cash-cow produced teeny bopper romances (which is fine in moderation, I guess, but diversification of storytelling is great too).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, yep. We did have that discussion! 😊 My film professor is brilliant! She’s an award-winning director, and I’ve already learned so much. We tackle foreign films in class, but for the most part, our reviews and analysis papers are about Filipino indie films. None of the requirements involve going near any of those awful capitalist, overly cliché romances. Thank universe.

      The films I’ve watched for class (and the films I decided to watch for the hell of it) are all refreshing to watch. Baka Bukas, for example, is an indie movie with a narrative on lesbian relationships — a typically taboo topic here in Philippines. The Guerilla Is a Poet is a docudrama about an exiled political leader, which was actually directed by my professor. The diverse stories these films offer are just wow.

      I highly encourage you to try looking into your country’s locally produced stuff too!

      Like

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning my post! 😄 I’m glad you managed to read a bit more this month. I need to check out that rant you talked about, I tend to jump over reviews where I don’t really know of the book, but if it made you feel so passionately, I really want to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I didn’t expect that I’d be able to get any reading done at all, to be honest. Oh god, my review turned out to be really intense and scathing because I have never encountered such an awful collection of poetry in my life. Sorry, not sorry. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem! I’m super thrilled to see you actively promoting diversity! ❤️ I’m trying to support local films and novels myself.

      Milk and Honey was good, but I don’t think it’s as great as everyone is hyping it up to be. Worth picking up, but don’t expect to be blown away. I’ll definitely try to translate my thoughts into a coherent review. 😊

      Like

    1. I haven’t written my review for Baka Bukas because I have a lot of mixed feelings, but the one for 2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten should be up within this week! 😉

      Also, no worries! I loved your post (as you already know).

      Like

  3. I’m so jealous of your February! I finished ZERO books! And I really mean, nada, nil, none 😦 UGH. Haha! Thanks for linking my Keep The Faith review, girl! Really appreciate it! Cheers for March! xo, Kat.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep! Watched it last week and I liked it, sort of. But it also triggered some memories from when I was in a similar situation and I don’t know what to feel about that hahahaha 😂

        Like

    1. Is this a serious question? It’s a recent indie film, and it’s still showing in cinemas, I think. It has Maja Salvador and Paulo Avelino as its main characters. 😊

      Really great film! I would highly recommend it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for linking to my post!😊 I can’t wait to read your film reviews. I’m never perceptive about the nuances of filmmaking, either, but I’m sure you’ll get it right. I’d love to see how you do your film reviews! Good luck!😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, it is not a problem! I like your content as much as I like your blog name. Very clever, btw. 😂 I hope what I write gives justice to these films because they’re really spectacular and deserve to be recognized. Thank you, though!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I CANNOT WAIT FOR YOUR REVIEW OF MILK AND HONEY, SHEALEA! And also, bring on all that Poetry stuff because you write BEAUTIFULLY. And also, what did you feel about Fangirl, now that you’ve re-read it? I’ve read it only once, in 2015 and I went ‘meh’ about the book.
    Keep up the frequent posting ❤🌌💛😚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As always, thank you for the compliments! 😭 You’re just too sweet. I’ve read a couple of your poems as well! I hope you keep writing.

      I found Fangirl very underwhelming. I don’t think the book is that great to warrant so much hype. I’ll definitely elaborate more in my review, but I’m glad someone shares the same sentiments I do!

      Like

Your two cents?

