Poetic Attempt || Thirteen

i.
The other day
it was an ordinary day
I told you
that I wanted to curse less
to scrub away the swear words
from the landscape of my tongue
because a lady cannot be a sailor
you looked into my eyes then
bewildered and confused, I think
and you asked me
“do you want to be a lady?”

ii.
The other day
it was an ordinary day
I told you
that I wanted to curse less
to scrub away the swear words
from the landscape of my tongue
because a lady cannot be a sailor
and immediately I realized then
that even as a poet, I am
still conditioned to fear
the power nestled between my lips

Thirteen
(Written on 14 January 2017)

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchTumblrInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

6 thoughts on “Poetic Attempt || Thirteen”

Your two cents?

