{2016 collection of poetry}

In an earlier post where I breezed through my plans and resolutions for 2017, I mentioned my intention of writing at least one poem a week. Which means that by the end of this year, I will (hopefully) have a collection of 52 poems.

For a while, I’ve thought about how I was going to name my new pieces. However, upon realizing that I have yet to develop the ability to come up with nice titles, I decided to continue to classify my 2017 poems the same way. They will be differentiated through numerical titles based on the chronological order of when I wrote them.

I’ve already written a couple of poems! And I am extremely excited to share these pieces with all of you. Until then, here’s a short compilation of my poetic attempts, together with my favorite lines and excerpts from them, for 2016.


“She’s not like you,” they conclude.
“You wear your heart on your sleeve.”
Truthfully
I don’t.
One (19 March 2016)


oftentimes i find myself
thinking maybe i was — or am still — right
had i stayed

(had i allowed you to chain me
i’m certain i would have
cried for different reasons
failed for different reasons
broken myself for different reasons
and maybe even in different ways)

i would not be
Three (06 July 2016)


Sometimes I hate metaphors
the kind of hate that
stirs solemnly
from the embers of coal;
the kind of hate that
explodes (all at once) from within
like an instantaneous collision of stars
Four (06 July 2016)


but i am not rainwater
i am not meant to part with the sky
Five (01 October 2016)


with my back pressed against
the defined planes of your chest
our hands out of sight but fingers interlocked
your warmth seeped steadily into
every inch of my shivering skin
and lazily ignited a crescendo
within the hollow expanse of my lungs
Six (09 October 2016)


as the wind so often does of everything it touches
leaving you bleeding in my wake
(I do not want to love you)
Seven (13 October 2016)


this is for those who continue to avenge
the stars that fell and plummeted into dirt
the flames snuffed out by lies and falsehood
the lives that raged until they could not

this is a poem for the Filipino people:
Marcos is not a hero
Nine (12 November 2016)


where do i go now
if home is meant to be a feeling
and i have no house
to seek shelter in
and there are no arms
i can run to
Ten (28 November 2016)


And there you have it. I’m still quite rusty with the whole poetry thing. There’s so much more left for me to learn. Also, I’m hoping I could write happier poems this year (keyword: hoping).

Here’s to (again, hopefully) happier poetry and more creative self-expression!

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchTumblrInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

9 thoughts on “{2016 collection of poetry}”

  1. Beautiful. One rhing is common in your poems, tha is the depth. One has to dive deep into it. Lovely. The subject and the style are woven perfectly and that makes it a poem. Its not so easy. God bless you.

    Like

  2. HI!!! I READ THESE POEMS FROM YOUR TUMBLR ACCOUNT AND I DON’T HAVE A TUMBLR ACCOUNT SO I’LL SAY IT HERE YOU ARE SO GOOD. I LOVE YOUR POEMS!!!! I AM SOOOO ENVIOUS. KEEP IT UP!!!! ❤❤❤ I hope you have 52 (or more) poems this year yeyyyy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! I have no idea how I’m supposed to respond to this, but I want you to know a few things:

      1) Your comment completely made my day!

      2) You are too sweet, and god, this means more to me than you probably realize.

      3) There’s no reason for you to be envious! Anyone can write poetry; you just need to dive into literary pieces and immerse yourself in their depths. Go and write!!!

      4) You’re wonderful. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jolien! 😊 I’ve only started writing poetry a year ago. And it’s been a powerful and meaningful tool for expression to me ever since. I highly encourage you to start writing your own! I’d love to read your pieces someday.

      Also, reading other poetry collections and listening to spoken word have really helped me in experimenting with many styles and in identifying my own. Maybe that would help you get started!

      Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

