Poetic Attempt || Nine

this is a poem for those who have forgotten:
this is for those who have turned blind
because their books are
distorted with vandalism
and they were robbed of the truth
this is for those who have grown deaf
because they were never taught
how to distinguish
silent voices from silenced cries
this is for those who have chosen ignorance
over the pursuit of what is right and just
because they have been
conditioned to apologize
on behalf of their oppressors

this is a poem for those who cannot forget:
this is for those who were abducted
from their homes and loved ones
and were thrown in God knows where
forbidden to taste the warmth of sunshine
this is for those who were raped
and are now incapable of
seeing their bodies in a mirror
without reliving their every fear
without grieving over what was taken from them
this is for those who were denied
of their rights as free people
and had to endure atrocities
done by an entity sworn to protect and uphold humanity

this is a poem for those who will never forget:
this is for those who protest
the senseless call to move on
because the nation has yet to be given
an opportunity to truly heal
this is for those who know
that burying a dictator’s body
will only further tarnish this land
rather than unearth the justice we’ve been denied
this is for those who continue to avenge
the stars that fell and plummeted into dirt
the flames snuffed out by lies and falsehood
the lives that raged until they could not

this is a poem for the Filipino people:
Marcos is not a hero

Nine
(Written on November 12, 2016)


* A little note:

I usually like to keep my poetic attempts vague and open for any interpretation. I typically like to stay quiet and let my work speak for itself. However, in this case, silence is not the right answer, and there is no interpretation other than this: the late President Ferdinand Marcos Sr. was a dictator, and is not and will not ever be a hero of my country.

Additional readings:

[1] Supreme Court allows burial of Marcos at Heroes’ Cemetery
[2] Does Marcos deserve a hero’s burial?
[3] ‘Buti pa si Marcos may bangkay,’ says sister of missing martial law victim
[4] By the numbers: What happened during Martial Law

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

6 thoughts on “Poetic Attempt || Nine”

  1. Hi! I am afraid that I don’t know much at all about the context of this poem (I’ll be reading your links after I post this). Just wanted to say that I liked how it read, I read things aloud and it cam out awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi there! One of my friends told me that it reads like spoken word or slam poetry. I’m assuming that’s what you meant.

      Anyway, thank you! I’m glad you liked it. And I hope you don’t limit yourself to the links I shared. There’s plenty of credible material regarding this issue! If you have any questions, let me know. I’ll do my best to answer them.

      Like

Your two cents?

