Review || Dirty Like Me


Title: Dirty Like Me
Author: Jaine Diamond
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Copy: Digital
Rating:

* More about the book.
* More about the author.
* Pre-order via Amazon.

Before anything else, I received a digital Advance Reading Copy (ARC) of this book from the author herself in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Jaine, for your generosity!

Having been left at the altar in her wedding dress, Katie Bloom has spent the last two years struggling with her self-worth. Little does she know her life is about to drastically change once Jesse Mayes, rock star extraordinaire, enters it (and quite literally, her).

Coerced into participating in Jesse’s rather intimate music video, Katie never imagined making out with a stranger in front of a camera crew as a means for her to heal her broken heart. The sex is fake but the chemistry between her and Jesse is so real it’s terrifying, and soon the steamy video is topping the charts. Somewhere along the way, Katie agrees to pose as Jesse’s girlfriend for six weeks while he promotes his new album.

The author initially sent a three-chapter sample to my email, and right then and there, I just knew I had to keep reading. My interest in reading this novel never waned despite its predictability and limited originality – two things that aren’t necessarily negative points in a critique. Even though the plot has been used in many other romance novels, the story had enough of a hook to make me want to witness everything unravel and to see how things eventually panned out.

The romance between Katie and Jesse could have been a whole lot better, in my opinion, but was nonetheless exceedingly hot, undeniably passionate and remarkably explosive. Their first encounters involved a significant amount of back-and-forth banter which, I think, was entertaining and set up their chemistry quite nicely. I particularly liked how their attraction to one another was greatly lust-driven but eventually paved way to other softer feelings that added a touch of realism to the setup. Again, it could have been better. In other words, heat-wise, the temperature between them was constantly scorching and continually rising. However, I would have preferred a larger share of emotionally vulnerable moments.

In summary, Dirty Like Me is a steamy, light read – the kind you’d like to have a quick escape to. A lot of the writing was pretty humorous. The characters were fascinating to read about. Despite the generous amount of intimate scenes in the novel, I don’t think the sex took away any substance from the story as a whole.


Excerpt from the book:

His dark eyebrows furled. “What was that? Raf?”

“I dunno.” I closed the book on the sketch of Raf. “Lots of people in there.” I stuffed the book back in my bag and gave him my most serious stink eye.

“It’s really fucking good.”

“Just something to keep my hands busy. Baking on a tour bus seems unlikely.” I sipped my drink again, keeping an eye on him this time, but he made no further attempt to molest my privacy. “You have your oral fixation, right? Well, I’ve got a thing with my hands.”

He sipped his bourbon, which I’d come to learn was his drink of choice, eyeing me over the rim of his glass. “I’ve got something you can do with your hands.”


Review also available: Goodreads

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

2 thoughts on “Review || Dirty Like Me”

  1. The premise sounds pretty awesome, except I’m giving the whole “[c]oerced into participating in Jesse’s rather intimate music video” detail a SERIOUS side-eye. Can I ask how she was coerced, exactly (if you don’t mind sharing those kind of spoilers)?

    Great review! =)

    Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

