Blogger Recognition x Versatile Blogger

I thought it would be a nice change of pace to do either a tag or awards post. Today, I’ll be doing two: The Blogger Recognition Award and The Versatile Blogger Award.

For The Blogger Recognition Award, I was nominated by Lois @ Lois Reads Books, Sam @ One Bookish Girl, B.G. @ Getting Through Anxiety, and Grace @ Quirky and Peculiar.

On the other hand, for The Versatile Blogger Award, I was nominated by Jay @ A Lovelorn Virgo and Sam @ RiverMoose-Reads.

Thank you, everyone! I feel humbled that so many of you thought of mentioning my blog in your posts. You’re all equally wonderful!

Mechanics:
[ ] Show the award on your blog.
[ ] Thank the person that has nominated you.
[ ] Share 7 different facts about yourself.
[ ] Nominate 15 blogs of your choice.
[ ] Link your nominees and let them know of your nomination.

[x] 7 different facts about myself.

[1] I am an embarrassingly massive fan of Pokemon, but I have yet to try playing Pokemon Go. And at this rate, I probably never will partly because I don’t have the luxury of time to do so and partly because I’d rather read more novels and binge watch more series and write more awful poetry. The app is still installed in my phone, though.

[2] I turned twenty years old last August, and I am currently in my fourth year of college in the University of the Philippines – Diliman. Both pieces of information have yet to completely sink in, really.

[3] Despite the unbelievable amount of mixed feelings and great deal of frustration I have with Veronica Roth’s Allegiant, the Divergent trilogy still remains as one of my favorites primarily because of the unparalleled impact the first book had on me during my senior year of high school. I mean, god, it was a year full of difficult choices — Which university should I apply for? What degree program do I want to pursue? What career path do I see myself in? Should I leave Pampanga and study in Manila? — and reading about how Tris struggled with her own choices really resonated with me.

[4] Currently, my favorite Starbucks drink is a hot White Chocolate Mocha espresso with Irish syrup. Highly recommended.

[5] I am terrified of heights, and the sight of blood freaks me out.

[6] I prefer to eat cupcakes with a spoon.

[7] I am a feminist, but more than being a feminist, I am for equal opportunity and for self-empowerment regardless of anything and everything.

Mechanics:
[ ] Write a post to show your award.
[ ] Give a brief story of how your blog started.
[ ] Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
[ ] Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
[ ] Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.

[x] Brief story of how my blog started.

Actually, I think I mentioned a summary of how my blog first began here. But anyway. From a more personal viewpoint, the notion of starting a blog about books legitimately began as a half-hearted joke. I was on my Christmas break, and with all the sudden free time in my hands, I quickly fell back into reading novels — something I never had the time to do because of college. And the thing about reading books is: there is a strong compulsion to talk about them. All of a sudden, Goodreads did not quite suffice anymore as a platform for book-related discussions.

Somewhere in the midst of everything, I threw the idea out there, and regardless of how much or how little I genuinely meant it, that idea took shape and eventually manifested into That Bookshelf Bitch. And I have never felt more liberated.

[x] Two pieces of advice to new bloggers.

I’d like to keep this simple. And I think what I’m about to say (or write, really) is applicable to bloggers in general.

First piece of advice: Learn to pace yourself. If you feel the need to cut back on the influx of your posts, go ahead. If you feel the need to reduce your posts to once a week or if you feel the need to increase your posts, go ahead. If you feel the need to go on a blogging hiatus, take one. If you feel the need to momentarily take a step back, do it. If you feel the need to take a breather from blogging, you deserve one. Or two. Or as many as you deem necessary. Do whatever you can to prevent yourself from completely burning out.

Second piece of advice: You are entitled to change your mind as much and as frequently as you want. Do not shy away from rebranding, reinventing and experimenting. Do not hesitate to make design or content changes every now and then. Do not be afraid of scrapping your entire layout and working with a completely blank page. Do not feel ashamed of wanting to establish a specific identity for both yourself and your blog. Do not feel pressured to blog in a certain way or to write with a certain format. Do not conform. The reality is — as time progresses, you are still constantly and continuously changing. And sometimes, so should your blog.

[x] Nominations.

Feel free to do either award or both! The lovely bloggers I’m nominating are as follows:

Lu @ Girl Who Reads
Eliza @ Dusk Angel Reads
Balie @ Nerd in New York
Michelle @ Addictively Turning Pages
Nathasya @ Sweater Weather
Patricia @ Accio Libri
Warisha @ Warisha Reads
Yarravy @ HIRAETHFORTHEPAGES
Hollie @ Hollie Ohs Book Reviews
Melissa @ BookNerdMomo
Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books
Anthony @ aVeryAwkwardBlog
Grace @ kimmie.gg
Allie @ A Literary Wanderer
Louise @ geniereads

Twitter: @bookshelfbitch ‧ Instagram ‧ Goodreads ‧ Bloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

15 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition x Versatile Blogger”

  1. I agree with the Divergent Series! The first book was writer to perfection and I can’t believe we have the same favorite Starbucks drink sans the Irish syrup (haha). I should try that one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The second book was my favorite, tbh. But I related to the first book the most. And oh my god, yes, you have to try it! You can also try it with a hazelnut syrup. Both are awesome. 😊

      Like

  2. I feel the same way about the divergent series. I am so annoyed at Veronica, but the first book was just so good! Thank you for nominating me!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. it was relatable, but ahhh, I think that it could have ended differently and still been relatable? I actually love how you’ve done these two tags together πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh, I was referring to the first two books. The third book — I’m still very undecided regarding my opinion. I think I have to reread the trilogy to finally make up my mind. But I definitely did not like Allegiant.

          Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

