Poetic Attempt || Four

Sometimes I hate metaphors
the kind of hate that
stirs solemnly
from the embers of coal;
the kind of hate that
explodes (all at once) from within
like an instantaneous collision of stars;
the kind of hate that
burns steadily, with assurance
like the rays of the sun;
the kind of hate that
lays waste and lingers
much like pillars of smoke after a forest fire

Sometimes I hate metaphors
because of you
because of everyone else
because of myself
because we are all guilty
because they make me a hypocrite
because they remind me of how human I am,
of how human it is
to draw comparisons
between this and that
when this wants to be this
and that wants to be that

Sometimes I hate metaphors
sometimes I hate metaphors more than anything
because underneath
the glittery eloquence
the flows and twists
the playful roll of tongues
the pretty little words
underneath them all
these metaphors speak ofโ€”
greater than
less than
as much as
as little as
โ€” and almost instinctively
I start to recall
all the times
you compared me
to someone else

Four
(Written on July 06, 2016)

Twitter: @bookshelfbitch โ€ง Instagram โ€ง Goodreads โ€ง Bloglovin’

โ€‹

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

19 thoughts on “Poetic Attempt || Four”

  1. So I’ve been reading the shit you’re posting and damn it’s fucking on point! You have a knack for this stuff! Keep it up! If you ever want to do a collab piece hit me up!

    Just another echo in the chasm of the internet
    -Tye Files

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What an interesting perspective on metaphores!
    I don’t read much poetry so I don’t know what kind of feedback would be helpful. But i want to say I really enjoyed it โค! The last lines were beautiful. Best of luck on your writing journey ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Your two cents?

