Wrapping up August 2016 [Quite possibly the worst reading and reviewing month I’ve had so far]

The post title itself is quite misleading as it suggests that I’m displeased by my progress for the month of August — which is not true at all! But more on that later.

As a lot of you know, August is my birth month (it honestly still feels quite strange to know I’m already twenty years old) so it isn’t really a surprise that things got significantly hectic for me. August 2016 was particularly busier than usual because (a) I returned from my month-long hiatus and officially relaunched my blog, and (b) a new college semester started and it took me two whole weeks to get enrolled. I won’t lie. I felt very overwhelmed every now and then. Things just kept happening, and I legitimately never ran out of things to do. Overall, however, I feel rather proud of myself for being more productive than I expected and for sticking to the goals I’ve set for myself. Certainly, there is still a lot of work to be done — both on my blog and in real life — but I’m confident I made a pretty strong start and I intend to continue this momentum.

What I’ve read but have yet to review!

In my midyear wrap-up post, I listed twenty-one (21) books that I haven’t properly reviewed. As such, for the month of August, I banned myself from reading any more books to prevent worsening my reviewing backlog — a struggle we’re all familiar with, I’m sure. My self-imposed reading ban was successful for the most part; however, on the last week of August, I started going crazy and ended up reading one (1) book.

Fear the Drowning Deep is Sarah’s brilliant and captivating YA debut novel, which is set to be officially released this coming October 4th. I received a digital advanced reading copy (eARC) from the author when I invited her to contribute to my 20th birthday + blog relaunch giveaway. Honestly, I cannot thank Sarah enough because I greatly adored Fear the Drowning Deep. I typically steer clear of historical fiction because I tend to get bored and stop reading altogether. On the contrary, Fear the Drowning Deep is not only the first historical fiction novel I’ve finished reading but it is also the first I enjoyed reading! I can’t wait to share my thoughts on it. Watch out for my book review!

Until then, I highly recommend that you get yourself a pre-order of Fear the Drowning Deep either via Amazon or via Book Depository!

What I’ve written!

Under That Bookshelf Bitch Relaunch:

Under Shealea writes:

Under Miscellaneous:

What I’ve done!

As I’ve said, August was particularly eventful for me. Here’s a brief recap and list of highlights!

  • I returned from my month-long hiatus and successfully relaunched That Bookshelf Bitch. Don’t forget to enter the giveaway, by the way. You have until September 14th to submit entries!
  • I turned 20 years old last August 14!
  • I decided to brush up my studying habits and started taking better notes by rewriting them. Rewriting my notes has effectively gobbled up a significant portion of my time (which means less time for blogging), but I actually enjoy doing so. Also, it’s a great way to force myself to review study material.
  • I introduced a fun new feature called Rec’d & Wreck’d. It’s basically a quick and interactive way to collect honest opinions and recommendations. For my succeeding wrap-ups, I intend to include a few Rec’d & Wreck’d posts from other bloggers, so be sure to write yours!
  • That Bookshelf Bitch reached 1,000 followers last August 24th! I’m still feeling exceptionally giddy and ecstatic over it.
  • As I mentioned earlier, it took me two weeks to finish enrolling. I experienced teacher’s prerog for the first time. I’m thinking of actually sharing my experiences via blog post because the UP enrollment system is the very paradigm of Shealea struggles. I’m a bit hesitant, though, as I am not sure if it’s something people would like to read. What are your thoughts? But anyway, you can actually read up on my college and enrollment woes (which I very wittingly named as #ShealeaGO) on Twitter!

What I’ve seen around!
Fourteen writeups and discussions from other bloggers I think are worth reading. Check these out!

Plans for the next month?

When my blog garnered 1,000 followers, I said I would visit all my followers’ blogs and leave a little comment love. I plan on starting my blog hop next week! I also intend to do my Q&A post shortly after. Other specific plans include participating in the audio blog tour for Omari and the People by Stephen Whitfield. This will be my first time to try out an audiobook. I’m very excited and I’m very thankful Jess invited me to participate. Regarding my self-imposed reading ban, I’ve decided to continue it with the exception of Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn and the aforementioned audiobook.

In general, I plan to dedicate my September to getting back on track review-wise and writing more original content. I’m hoping my workload for September would calm down a little so I can pace myself better.

What about you? What are your plans for September?

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

19 thoughts on “Wrapping up August 2016 [Quite possibly the worst reading and reviewing month I’ve had so far]”

    1. Thank you! 💖 It’s all right. I’m still 19 books ahead in my Goodreads 2016 reading challenge. That’s something. 😂 But I’m glad to know that you had a great reading month! How many books were you able to read last August? I hope September is equally great for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations on your birthday, 1000 followers, sticking to your goals and surviving enrollment!! It sounds like you had a great month 🙂 I usually love historical fiction, so I’ll check that book out! Also, thanks for sharing my post on blogging stress, that’s very nice of you ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Esther! When you put it like that, my month does sound quite eventful. 😂

      Anyway, yes! Fear the Drowning Deep is such a great read. It really left an impression on me. Let me know if you pre-order a copy. I’d definitely love to hear (or rather, read) your thoughts on it. 😊 Also, don’t worry about it! Keep writing great posts. I love your blog’s content.

      Like

  2. Hey Shealea! Thanks for the shout-out! ^.^ And no worries. I may have reviewed books in August, but that doesn’t mean I read any. :p I like to stock-pile reviews ahead of time so I’m not on a crunch to read a book every week (which just isn’t possible while in school. -.-)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries. Your discussions are always A+! 😉 Actually, I think I’m going to adapt that strategy for this month. I have over 30 unreviewed books in my queue. I think stock-piling would be ideal. 😊 Good luck with school, by the way!

      Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

