Let’s talk about TV series – those that kicked ass and those I kicked myself for trying || Rec’d & Wreck’d

Hey there! Yesterday, I introduced my most recent idea for a blog post/feature, which I have aptly named as Rec’d & Wreck’d. You can read more about it on this blog post, if you’re curious and/or interested. As promised, I am releasing my own Rec’d & Wreck’d post to get the ball rolling! (And so that everyone else will get a better idea of how this feature actually works.)


What exactly is Rec’d & Wreck’d?

Rec’d & Wreck’d is essentially a means to put more things under your radar. What’s great about this feature is that it isn’t limited to book recommendations; rather, it talks about anything — books, films, bands/songs or TV series — you would encourage others to try (rec’d) and anything you would like to warn others of (wreck’d). It’s a fun and interactive way to collect honest opinions!


What are the mechanics?

[1] Download the Rec’d & Wreck’d header and include it in your post.
[2] Specify what you’re going to Rec’d & Wreck’d. If you were tagged to do a Rec’d & Wreck’d post, let us know and mention the person who tagged you.
[3] List three things you would recommend (rec’d). Rave until your heart’s content.
[4] List three things you would like to wreck (wreck’d). Rant until your heart’s content.
[5] State your challenge for the next Rec’d & Wreck’d post. Here’s an example:
Rec’d & Wreck’d challenge:
– Type: Books
– Genre: YA Contemporary
– Prompt: I’m looking for a book that can make me ugly cry

[6] You can open the challenge to all your blog readers, but you should nominate at least seven (7) people to do your challenge.
[7] Do not forget to link back to the original post on That Bookshelf Bitch. That way, more people can learn about the feature and join in on the fun!


Let’s get to it!

As this is the first Rec’d & Wreck’d post, I was not tagged to do this. For my first post under this feature, I am going to Rec’d & Wreck’d a few TV series. Initially, I considered doing books instead (as I am, after all, a book blogger). However, I decided it would be nice to mix things up a bit. Also, I’ve been binge-watching a lot lately, so this seemed easier to write. I’ve always wanted to share a few of my favorite shows with all of you, and now that an opportunity has presented itself, I figured why not?


Rec’d


#1. Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Rave: For as long as I can remember, I have always had a certain weakness for anything Marvel has produced. (Read: I am its trash.) I don’t think there has ever been a Marvel film that has greatly disappointed or underwhelmed me. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is definitely not an exception.

Upon Coulson’s untimely death in the first Avengers movie, I was nothing short of devastated. I’ve gotten significantly attached to his character. Imagine the thrill and surprise I felt the moment I stumbled upon the discovery that Agent Coulson is still very much alive! And the lucky duck has earned his own television series! What even. Needless to say, I was quickly immersed into the world this show offered — a world where S.H.I.E.L.D. still exists but has to remain invisible to the public eye.

The first season’s starting point immediately catapults the audience to the consequences the world is forced to face right after the near planetary destruction in The Avengers. I think it is quite remarkable how the show’s storyline is synchronized with the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) timeline in a way that is both effortless and just plain awesome. Watching the episodes sort of feels like going behind the scenes of the movie as the audience is given an opportunity to witness the aftermath. At the same time, however, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. succeeds in detaching itself from the MCU we’re familiar with and in introducing a noticeably independent, equally thrilling story with a refreshing set of characters and a very compelling, jampacked plot.

#2. The Flash

Rave: Growing up, I have never been a huge fan of Batman or Superman. I used to watch the Justice League cartoon as a kid, but my favorites were always the Flash and Hawkgirl. In the cartoon, Flash was sort of the comedic relief among the Justice League members, and his sense of humor was why I liked him so much. When I was told about a TV series wherein Flash’s story would be told in a modern fashion, I immediately became very excited about the thought of reuniting with a superhero I loved throughout my earlier years.

To be fully honest, the TV series was significantly different from what I anticipated; nevertheless, it was still far better than I could ever imagine. Barry Allen’s persona is noticeably contrastive to his cartoon counterpart. In the show, Barry is a lot more skeptical, timid and relatively geeky — which makes sense as he is both a forensic scientist and an investigator. Still, his character is always unbelievably charming, engaging and adorable. In fact, Barry is ultimately my biggest superhero crush. Plus, I am 100% convinced that casting Grant Gustin (who is beyond gorgeous, can I just say) as the Flash is one of the greatest blessings mankind has ever witnessed. (How dare you pick out a different Flash for the Justice League movie, Zack Snyder! I will never forgive you.)

The Flash also presents a fascinating plot. It plays around with a lot of concepts from physics and somehow manages to present this scientific knowledge in an understandable and viewer-friendly way. While the science behind everything is not always absolutely accurate (from what I know, I mean), I cannot help but appreciate the creative and imaginative way these concepts are integrated into the show.

Personally, my only problem with The Flash is Iris West. The words I’d use to describe her are self-entitled, recklessly impulsive, selfish and outright vindictive. I honestly don’t understand why she has not been killed off (by her own stupidity). Regardless, in spite of her unfortunate presence, The Flash still holds a soft spot in my heart.

#3. Once Upon A Time

Rave: Generally, I love to read a good fairy tale retelling. With that said, it is not much of a surprise that I’ve ended up adoring Once Upon A Time as well. The show is basically an imaginative, overwhelmingly fantastic collision between fairy tale legends and the modern, mundane world. Every episode presents familiar faces from our favorite childhood stories — from Snow White to Peter Pan to the Queen of Hearts — in outlandish yet whimsically inventive ways.

Honestly, I do not want to give anything away as one of the best parts about this show is experiencing the journey and discovering the twists, turns, and surprises on your own! However, I will say that Once Upon A Time never ceases to amaze me with its seemingly infinite bag of tricks, establishing connections in places I never bothered to think about twice. The storyline is kind of like a meticulously crafted, continuously expanding spider web with a myriad of wonderfully intricate patterns made of the finest silk. It basically rewrites the stories and tales we’ve come to know by heart and strategically molds them into a refreshing and addictive series of adventures.

Let me end this rave by proclaiming my unconditional love for the character featured on the poster I included in this post. Killian slays!


Wreck’d


#1. Legends of Tomorrow

Rant: When it comes to underwhelming and mildly disappointing television series, the first to come to mind is Legends of Tomorrow. From what I can remember, the gist of the show is as follows: Rip Hunter, a time-traveling rogue (I guess that’s one way to put it), assembles a heroic dream team out of low-key characters — a few good guys and a few villains — from Arrow and The Flash in the hopes that this team will successfully prevent an apocalypse that happens in the future without disrupting the present flow of time. In other words, some guy recruits a bunch of under-the-radar characters and takes them to the future, giving them this whole motivating spiel about how they can alter their destinies from being nobodies to becoming the greatest set of heroes mankind will ever encounter.

Initially, I was looking forward to this spin-off series as I am a massive fan of both Arrow and The Flash (see above rave). I immediately downloaded the first six episodes and planned on binge-watching them. However, the pilot episode was so underwhelming and bland; I lost all motivation to continue watching and immediately deleted all the episodes I downloaded.

I guess part of my disappointment stemmed from the fact that the only character I liked on the team is Sara Lance. As for the rest of the characters — well, I thought they were pretty okay, but there was nothing to write home about. No one, in my opinion, had a commanding presence or any “oomph” in terms of characterization. The team itself lacked any appeal. I genuinely could not bring myself to feel any hype or excitement about Legends of Tomorrow.

#2. Supergirl

Rant: To put it simply, the series revolves around the superhero career of Superman’s cousin, Kara. Tons of my friends adore this show! I thought I would happily jump into this bandwagon. I mean, for one thing, the leading hero is a woman. It’s about time for female superheroes to be given an opportunity to kick butt in a show specifically narrating their adventures. It’s about time for strong, capable, independent women to spearhead crime-fighting endeavors and to be more than just love interests.

Unfortunately, I was mistaken. I did not like this. From what I can recall, I only watched a total of three episodes before officially giving up on Supergirl. I just could not even? I don’t know what particularly caused me to lose interest in this show, but I guess I just found the entire thing underwhelming? I do not think the plot was intriguing enough, especially compared to the complex set-up in The Flash. I was also not impressed with the way the fighting scenes turned out.

I will admit there’s a possibility that I may give this one a second chance, but only if I run out of television series to binge watch (which is highly unlikely).

#3. Scream Queens

Rant: Okay, I will be blunt about this. I cannot, for the life and love of me, understand why this series is even a thing. How Scream Queens quickly became such a phenomenal hit is quite frankly beyond me. I just don’t get it.

As far as I know, the series is meant as a comedy horror sort of thing. Comedy? Horror? Either way, Scream Queens failed to entertain me. I was left with a lot of mixed feelings. All I could think about was how annoyingly shallow the characters were (which was intended by the show’s producers, I know) and how it felt like my brain cells were gradually deteriorating. Maybe it’s the kind of show that eventually grows on a person. Maybe it isn’t. I’ll never know. I only made it through one episode before finally deciding that nope, okay, this one is definitely far too mindless for me to appreciate.


I’m proposing a Rec’d & Wreck’d challenge!

Challenge details:
Type: Books
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Prompt: I’m looking for a novel that will emotionally wreck me and haunt me for weeks.


Who am I challenging?

According to the mechanics (which I made up — whoops), I have to nominate at least seven people. However, I’m going to mention fourteen wonderful bloggers simply because it’s my favorite number. Here we go! Hello, guys!

Bea @ Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic | Iridescence @ light up the shining night stars | Melissa @ BookNerdMomo | Grace @ kimmie.gg | Grace @ Quirky and Peculiar | Michelle @ Addictively Turning Pages | Nathasya @ Sweater Weather | Becca @ Becca and Books | Ashleigh @ A Frolic Through Fiction | Bianca @ The Ultimate Fangirl | Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile | Jam @ Heartscent Reads | Maja @ Maya the Book Explorer | Rachana @ Spun

Of course, this challenge is also open to everyone who’s interested! If you want to give this one a go, let me just say: Wynaut? Go ahead and participate!

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

65 thoughts on “Let’s talk about TV series – those that kicked ass and those I kicked myself for trying || Rec’d & Wreck’d”

  1. Wonderful post! I love Agents of SHIELD! So addicted to it 🙂 I tried Supergirl and Scream Queens but couldn’t get into them. Maybe one of these days I will try again. I loved the few episodes of Once Upon a Time that I watched. Hopefully one of these days I will be able to watch it from the beginning. Do you watch Orphan Black?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I will do that. Thank you 🙂 I hope you get a chance to watch Orphan Black. I can’t tell you more because there is a spoiler even in the first episode. It is so wonderful!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I like this idea! I both like and dislike Flash. I loved the first season but the second wasn’t nearly as good. I agree with you on Iris – I find her obnoxious and selfish! I hate how she thinks that when Barry needs saving, only she can do it!

    As for Supergirl, I think it’s okay but I have one major problem with it: Kara doesn’t come off as strong at all! She may be independent but the whole point of ‘Super’ man or girl is that their strong, she’s constantly getting beat up in fight scenes though! What’s up with that?! I’m not saying she has to be successful every time, but most of the time would be nice!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m glad you liked the idea. I hope you give it a try someday.

      I agree. I liked the initial plot of The Flash. The storyline in the second season is significantly more complicated and kind of more challenging to follow — what with the multiple worlds and universes and all. But the second season applies more physics, which allows me to still appreciate what’s going on. I hate Iris West more than I hate Laurel Lance from Arrow! They have extremely similar personalities and are both equally frustrating. But Laurel was already given her sort-of “redemption” arc in the show, so she’s somewhat tolerable every now and then. I can’t imagine Iris ever redeeming herself.

      I agree. Even though I only watched a little of Supergirl, I felt that the fight scenes did not give Kara the opportunity of putting the ‘super’ in supergirl.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I just read your post! It was a great read. Thank you for participating. ❤️

          Sarah is hands down one of my favorite characters in the show. I’m kind of bummed she isn’t a part of it anymore.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. ALL OF THE OUAT THINGS. Killian is the absolute best and if I could marry any fictional character, it would probably be him. I kind of lost interest in SHIELD this past season and a half because while I love how they’re expertly tying it into the MCU, the show itself got too convoluted for me to follow it enjoyably. And I’ve heard endless good things about The Flash (plus Tom Felton is set to join the cast next season) that I neeeed to check it out for myself.
    -Monica @ Tomes Project

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, Monica! Thank you for dropping by. 😊 I definitely agree with you. Killian is my ultimate fictional boyfriend. 😍

      Well, I guess I’m pretty biased when it comes to Marvel so I may have missed what you’re talking about. They can honestly do no wrong in my eyes. 😂 I hope you get to try The Flash out soon though! I’m pretty sure you’ll enjoy it because seriously, Grant is too adorable for words! (If you ever need someone to fangirl with over The Flash, I’ll be here waiting!!!) I also hope you give Rec’d & Wreck’d a shot. I’m curious as to what you’ll come up with. 😛

      Like

    1. Thank you for the recommendation! 😊 I’ve never heard of that novel. Can you tell me more about it? What about it specifically was intense? I mean, I looked it up and the ratings were extremely mixed.

      Like

      1. The Smokejumper has a lot of life and death scenarios, as well as navigating difficult relationship obstacles from those scenarios. The firefighting aspect of the book is intense enough by itself though. I read it last year, so I can’t give you a lot of details, but I do wholeheartedly recommend it. I hope you give it a try!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. OUAT 💖
    And yes, I agree with you about Scream Queens. However, I still watch it. 😂 It’s not one of my favorite tv shows (not even close), but I kinda like it, only because sometimes it gets really stupid. Also, one of my classmates watches it, and as this is the only tv show we have in common, it’s nice to have something to talk about with her.
    Great post btw! Just found your blog and I guess I’ll stick aroud. 😜 Followed!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh em, that’s fine. I won’t condemn you for watching the show. 😂 At least you understand where I’m coming from. Anyway, thanks for the lovely comment and for the follow! I’m very flattered you’ve deemed me worthy. 😛 And I’m looking forward to hearing more from you!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I really enjoyed the first season for The Flash. I mean, I sort of teared up (well, I DID tear up) during the Barry/Joe father/son interaction. I mean REALLY touching! Not really a fan of Iris, TBH. I didn’t get into S2, though.

    The actress playing Supergirl is annoying af. ugh! I only watched a few episodes and I didn’t get the spark AT ALL. I also think it’s stupid that they are not mentioning the word Superman. sigh*

    I also don’t get Scream Queens. I barely watched the first episode and just got bored.

    Awesome meme, Shealea!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here!!! The character family dynamics are so spot on. 😭 I also loved Barry’s interactions with his biological father. They always got me so emotionally unstable. And yeah, totally, Iris sucks and she isn’t even a value-adding element to the story. I honestly think she’s an inconvenience, if anything. Why haven’t you watched the second season, though?

      I didn’t particularly find the Supergirl actress annoying. She was just so unremarkable, in my opinion. Nothing about the series held my interest.

      Scream Quuens is awful. Enough said. 😂

      Anyway, thank you! Hope you’ll give this a shot. I know you have a lot of contemporary romances in mind! 😛

      Like

  6. Mm. I have to agree with you on ‘Supergirl’. I, too, attempted to watch it with little success. I made through maybe three episodes? o.O But when it came right down to it, it was uninteresting, lacked developable plot, and the characters were flat. I just couldn’t get into.

    I haven’t tried ‘The Flash’, but it was another one I wasn’t too keen on after watching previews. I did attempt to watch ‘Agents of Shield’ and did for some time, but I fell out of it. I dunno. I barely remember it at this point. :/

    OUAT is on like… what? Season 5? I think I last watched Season 3? Uh… I want to catch up, but just haven’t had the time (or haven’t been able to find the episodes) to catch up. Though, I will say that the last season I watched (right before Black Swan, I think the previews said), was really lacking, in my opinion. They ran out of plotlines and decided to just throw in a bunch of new characters. That’s not my thing. :/ It shows lack of development on the writers part. *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Almost all of the series thay you listed down for the wreck’d part were my guilty pleasure TV series omg. I guess I sticked to Scream Queens because I love how weird Chanel #3 is. Plus Supergirl is ridiculously up my alley. (Yeah. Trash 😂) I need to catch up on OUAT aghh. I stopped watching after the Frozen arc. And I’ll watch The Flash soon because of peer pressure haha.

    *evil laugh* You do know that contemporaries are up my alley right? Muahahaha. I hope I have enough books to make you cry. Jk. Thank you for tagging me in this challenge. ❤😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my. That’s fine! New Girl is probably my guilty pleasure. I haven’t finished the most recent season of OUAT as well! We definitely need more hours in a day. 24 just won’t cut it. 😂

      I do, but I’m still excited to read what you come up with! Good luck (not that you’ll need it 😉).

      Like

  8. Ooh I love this new series!! I don’t know whether I’ll actually do it though because you totally rec’d all my favorite tv shows already 😀 I’ve been watching Supergirl and Legends of Tomorrow tbh but I was pretty disappointed overall.. (And I didn’t even bother trying Scream Queens).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s fine! You can do the contemporary romance books instead! 😊 And yes!!! Oh em, I’m so glad someone has a similar opinion to mine. I couldn’t muster any kind of enthusiasm to keep watching. And yes, please. Save yourself from the (terrible) horror that is Scream Queens.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Challenge accepted! This seems like it’s going to be so much fun, I can’t wait to do it. I have a lot of great contemporary romances in mind for it already. 😊

    I so need to continue Once Upon A Time! I’ve started it twice now and both times I’ve sort of just stopped watching it. Not that I didn’t like it but I have a problem with starting TV shows and then not finishing them. 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Glad to hear you’re accepting the challenge, Melissa! 😛 I’m sure you’ll come up with fantastic answers. I’m looking forward to them.

      Oh em. I totally understand you! That’s basically my experience with Jessica Jones and Daredevil in a nutshell. I hope you catch up on OUAT soon though!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I accept your challenge, Shealea! 🙂 I’m hella excited but it’s going to be so hard!! I have too many wonderful Contemporary Romances to recommend😆

    On a whole other note, I LOVE OUAT!!!! I’m catching up on the recent season and HOLY FREAKING HELL. 😱 This show blows me away! Love every single twist they put on the fairy tales and stories. 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m glad to hear you’re accepting the challenge! Can’t wait for the post. 😛

      YAS!!! I fell in love with OUAT right after the first season. 😍 I haven’t finished the fifth season, but I am definitely enjoying everything so far. Who’s your favorite character?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. HOOOOOK AND REGINA!!!!!!! Dark, savvy, and all kinds of badass. Love everyone though! Emma had the best arc in season 5. I love all the fairytales and everything about OUAT!! 😀 ❤ It's just an amazing show!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I adore the two of them, too! 😍 Not a huge fan of Mary Margaret and her beau, though. AND YES I AGREE!!! While I wasn’t a fan of the King Arthur ARC, OUAT just keeps slaying everything else. 😂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. OHMYGOD YAAAAY!!! 😱😍🙌Mary Margaret is definitely not my favourite either. Charming is hella cute though and I love that they’re together IRL. I RECOMMEND FINISHING SEASON 5 SOON BECAUSE THINGS GET JAW DROPPING GOOD. 👌

            Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m so behind with Once Upon A Time! I just watched until season 2 episode 5. I better continue this because Captain Hook is 😍. Thank you for the rec’d and for the challenge! I need to think about books wreck’d list (It’s hard haha!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my! I hope you catch up soon. It’s all worth it. 💖 Honestly, I haven’t finished the last season either. But yaaaas, Captain Hook is my all-time favorite. 😍

      Sure thing! Good luck and I’m looking forward to your post!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh em, where have you been all my life??? It’s always awesome to come across a fellow fan! 😍 Are you updated with all three Rec’d series? AND YES. Scream Queens frustrated me to no end! I’d rather rewatch Mean Girls, to be honest.

      And sure thing! I’m excited to read what you come up with! 😉

      Like

        1. That’s fine! I’m not updated either. I’m currently trying to finish up FRIENDS before catching up with the latter half of Agents of SHIELD Season 5. Hope we can fangirl right after, though! 🤓

          Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

