New blog post idea? || Rec’d & Wreck’d

Let’s be completely honest here. Am I the only one who no longer makes use of Goodreads to look for book recommendations and (possible) next reads? Am I the only one who occasionally visits the site for the sake of updating my 20XX Reading Challenge progress and cross-referencing the book reviews I post on my blog? Am I a rare Pokemon?

Since I started this blog, I have begun to rely on Goodreads less and less when it comes to determining what book to read next. I typically use the site to retrieve book information (e.g. synopsis) for my reviews and similarly bookish posts, but I no longer take the time to explore the site for new releases and hyped reads. I mean, at this point, I have all of you (my fellow bloggers and kindred spirits) for that.

Which brings me to the whole idea behind this feature I’m about to introduce to you.

A few weeks ago, I was watching FRIENDS. What else is new? It was the episode wherein Chandler Bing admits he hasn’t cried since he was a child. Not even when Bambi’s mother died! The episode was appropriately entitled “The One Where Chandler Can’t Cry”.

Anyway, that episode got me thinking about the books that have succeeded in making me cry such as John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars (I know. What a basic, overrated choice for a tearjerker, Shealea.) and Julie Kagawa’s The Iron Queen. I eventually realized that oh my god, I want to experience more emotionally devastating novels that will make me bawl like a newborn. Or, you know, Chandler by the end of that episode. The problem was, I had no idea where to begin!!! I mean, it isn’t like I can type ‘books that will absolutely dissolve me into a bucket of heartbroken, soul-shattered tears’ into the Goodreads search bar, yes? And what if I’m looking for tear-inducing films instead?

Eventually, I started contemplating ways to easily get recommendations while interacting with the blogging community. Here is what I came up with!


REC’D & WRECK’D

DESCRIPTION: Rec’d & Wreck’d is essentially a means to put more things under your radar. What’s great about this feature is that it isn’t limited to book recommendations; rather, it talks about anything — books, films, bands/songs or TV series — you would encourage others to try (rec’d) and anything you would like to warn others of (wreck’d). It’s a fun and interactive way to collect honest opinions!

DETAILS:

Is there an official banner for this feature?

Why yes, there is! I’ve taken the liberty of creating one for everyone’s convenience! Feel free to resize it in order to better suit the layout needs of your blog. Click on the photo below to download the header in its original size (825×330 pixels).

What is rec’d?

Rec’d is short for “recommended”. Basically, things you’ve loved and/or greatly enjoyed that you would like other people to try out as well! It can also apply to things you believe should warrant more hype and appreciation by the general public.

What is wreck’d?

Wreck’d is short for “wrecked” as in you’d want nothing more than to wreck it and burn it to the ground. Well, actually, it does not have to be something you vehemently hate. This could be things you would like to warn others of, things that have ultimately disappointed or frustrated you, things you did not enjoy/like or simply things that did not work for you.

What is a Rec’d & Wreck’d challenge?

This is basically the kind of feedback and/or type of recommendations you’d like to receive. Or maybe you’re just curious to see how people will respond. Regardless, a challenge should consist of the following:

– the type of things you’d like to see (e.g. books, films, series, songs)
– the genre(s) these things should be (e.g. New Adult, Science Fiction, Fantasy)
– (optional) a prompt for the people you’re challenging (e.g. “a book that’s set in Europe”)

Is there anything else I should know, Shealea?

Hmm, let’s see. I would highly and greatly appreciate it if you would link back to this post for these reasons:

a) Knowing myself, I’d probably want to read and to comment on each and every single Rec’d & Wreck’d post.
b) I intend to include three (3) to six (6) posts in each of my succeeding monthly wrap-ups, so make sure I get to see yours!
c) I am always on the lookout for recommendations. So really, help me help you to help me.

SUMMARIZED MECHANICS*:
* to be included in your Rec’d & Wreck’d post

[1] Download the Rec’d & Wreck’d header and include it in your post.
[2] Specify what you’re going to Rec’d & Wreck’d. If you were tagged to do a Rec’d & Wreck’d post, let us know and mention the person who tagged you.
[3] List three things you would recommend (rec’d). Rave until your heart’s content.
[4] List three things you would like to wreck (wreck’d). Rant until your heart’s content.
[5] State your challenge for the next Rec’d & Wreck’d post. Here’s an example:
Rec’d & Wreck’d challenge:
– Type: Books
– Genre: YA Contemporary
– Prompt: I’m looking for a book that can make me ugly cry

[6] You can open the challenge to all your blog readers, but you should nominate at least seven (7) people to do your challenge.
[7] Do not forget to link back to the original post on That Bookshelf Bitch! That way, more people can learn about the feature and join in on the fun!


And there you have it! A cute little addition to your regular posts (I hope). I will probably do my first Rec’d & Wreck’d post tomorrow! What about you? What do you think of this new feature? And will you participate in it? Let me know.

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

53 thoughts on “New blog post idea? || Rec’d & Wreck’d”

  1. This is a very interesting new blog meme you’ve created, Shealea. It sounds like a good way for readers/movie watchers/etc to find new recommendations or what not to waste their time on. Have you thought about adding a section saying ‘if you like [insert other book/movie]’ that way people have a better idea of what it’s like. After all, we all have different tastes. :p Though, I can understand this’ll probably keep you very busy. So, I won’t waste more of your time and I’ll let you decide how you want to do your memes. Good luck! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve thought about something quite similar to that, but I opted against it. I didn’t want to put too specific requirements for the meme as I want bloggers to express their likes, dislikes, and opinions however they wish. When they rant/rave, they can certainly compare one thing to another thing (e.g. “If you like [item 1], then read/listen to/watch [item 2].”) but I don’t want to impose a particular format on them. I want to give them a leeway to be as creative and as inventive as they can with their Rec’d & Wreck’d!

      Thank you very much for the input, though. I really appreciate it.

      Like

  2. I. LOVE. THIS. IDEA!!! This is exactly what I’ve been looking for and I can’t wait to see where this goes. I’ll probably make this a weekly meme on my blog now!! (Creds to you of course 😉) *squeals* This is the PERFECT way to find new books and be informed in a whole new creative way! Love it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my god, I’m (internally) sobbing. 😭 You’ve no idea how happy your comment makes me! I’m so glad you like the idea. 😊 It would legitimately be an honor to see my feature on your blog on a weekly basis. I mean, what even??? That’s insane. I hope you have fun with it! 😊🎉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great idea! I use goodreads for keeping up with all my books, but it’s hard for me to find new books to read there… The last one was a huge disappointment so, yeah, I love this idea! 😊 I definitely want to participate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tammy! I’m glad I’m not the only one experiencing this. 😂 I just released my Rec’d & Wreck’d post, complete with a challenge and everything. Maybe you can participate in that one. 😊 If you’re interested, that is.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I saw your post by now and that made me like the idea even more! 😄 I probably won’t be able to participate this time because I have so much to catch up on… 😅 BUT definitely count me in for the next time!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. The concept sounds interesting! But I think I’ll have to see it in practice to fully understand what you’re saying. I just came off a book that I fell on love with and my mind is still stuck with the characters. Haha!

    As for Goodreads, I don’t think I ever really got sucked into it. I check it for ratings on books I’m considering but I also compare that to ratings on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other book review sites. I also use it to keep up with authors; especially ones with multiple series. I don’t know why but I was kind of hoping it could be Facebook for bibliophiles. Unfortunately, even though quite a few of my friends are on it, nobody really shares what they are reading or what they thought about it. 😦 Hence why I turned to the Blogosphere.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You raised a lot of good points! I agree. Goodreads isn’t as interactive as I thought it would be. Which is sad. 😞

      Anyway, I just posted a Rec’d & Wreck’d challenge! If you want to get a better idea of how the feature works, I recommend you check it out. 😊

      Like

  5. Hmm… I would say it is a fair mix for me. I will see something a blogger recommends, read their review, check goodreads reviews, and then decide whether or not to read it. But as a book blogger myself, I am often so swamped with review requests, that I rarely have to “look for a book to read”.

    I used to love talking books on GoodReads, but it seems like so many of the groups have strayed away from that, and with me reading more and more indie authors, it is hard to find a “fandom” like you can with more mainstream books (Can anyone say HP!)

    This challenge looks interesting! Looking forward to see how it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely understand what you mean! There are so many underappreciated novels lately, especially when it comes to indie. It’s disheartening that it’s difficult to find a group of like-minded people who are into the same books you’re reading. And it’s even more disheartening to know that what you’re reading – which is phenomenally written – isn’t on anyone’s radar at all!

      Thank you for the comment! I hope it turns out well. 😊 I just posted my first Rec’d & Wreck’d.

      Like

  6. Oh yeah by the way, I get what you mean about GoodReads. I do use it daily. But I don’t really go TO good reads for recommendations. I seem to find plenty of recommendations from blogs, and reading groups, etc. I don’t really trust the ratings on GoodReads. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!! I AM RELIEVED TO KNOW I’M NOT THE ONLY ONE. ❤️ I’ve developed a fair share of reservations when it comes to Goodreads ratings. Also, I do think critique from bloggers I follow is a lot more trustworthy than star ratings from a bunch of strangers who don’t even have an avatar. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right!! And I swear some people are so loyal to authors they love that they refuse to give unbiased ratings. Everything is 5 stars even if it’s a total flop. Or in the case of ARCs. I feel like a lot of people rate them 5 stars when they really aren’t just because they got the book for free they feel indebted to the authors. Which totally defeats the purpose. But whatever n

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Nope, you aren’t the only one. It still seems like I spend a lot of time on there, but it’s usually to post reviews and gather data for reviews, like you said.

    I most definitely still use it to keep track of exact dates of reading books, because I find that very helpful info to be able to return to from time to time.

    One other thing I use it for with my own blog, is finding recommendations of similar books. I never recommend books I haven’t read, so if I do a Goodreads search (or google then select what it spits out for goodreads) for something like “books like Behind Closed Doors” then I can quickly see which books from the books others have thought were similar that I’ve already read. Did that make any sense at all??? Haha!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one! 😂 I have no idea why I stopped using the site for recommendations, though. I guess it’s because the bloggers I follow seem to be more trustworthy sources and voices when it comes to finding feedback regarding a certain book.

      What you said made sense — don’t worry. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

    1. That should not be a reason for you to not try something! We all start from somewhere.

      Tell you what. I will definitely nominate you in my first post! 😊 I’m interested to see how you’ll respond to my prompt. I’m really glad you like the idea, by the way! Thank you.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the site! It’s just that I don’t habitually explore its pages for new reads anymore. Thanks for dropping by though! 😊

      Like

Your two cents?

