Celebrate my 20th birthday and blog relaunch with me! || GIVEAWAY

The title of this post is pretty self-explanatory, yes? Here in Philippines, it’s already the 14th of August, which means today is my 20th birthday!!! (Am I the only one who can’t believe I just typed that?)

I have always been the kind of person who likes to conduct birthday countdowns; however, this year, as I took note of the months, weeks and days left before the arrival of August 14, I found myself having a maelstrom of mixed feelings. I mean, god, I’m finally leaving that “-teen” suffix behind whenever I mention my age. I’m legitimately twenty years old now. Which is basically synonymous to delving deeper into the uncharted territorial waters of adulthood.

The adulthood that I am in no way ready for.

Do you see what I mean? But I’m going off-tangent. What else is new?

In addition to this, yesterday marked the long-awaited (or at least, that’s what I’d like to think) return of That Bookshelf Bitch! Aside from formally announcing the relaunch (wow, okay, I’m making this sound a whole lot more important than it actually is), I wrote about a number of things and realizations I’ve had throughout my month-long hiatus.

Anyway. To celebrate both my birthday and my blog’s official relaunch, I am conducting an international giveaway(!!!). It’s my second attempt, actually. Similarly to my previous giveaway, I have decided to divide the prizes into separate parts in order to accomodate a higher number of winners. This time, the giveaway has three parts! For all three parts, the requirements are, for the most part, the same. In order to participate, you must submit entries via Rafflecopter. Take note, however, that you are more than welcome to enter all three parts of the giveaway!

Before I reveal the actual prizes, I would like take a brief moment to properly thank the following authors — C.L. Denault, Pintip Dunn and Sarah Marsh — for their generosity!


#1
Two (2) winners will each receive a signed paperback copy of Gambit written by C.L. Denault, a good friend and one of my favorite authors.

Read: Synopsis from Goodreads | Gambit book review | Author interview

#2
Two (2) winners will each receive a Kindle copy of Forget Tomorrow written by Pintip Dunn.

Read: Synopsis from Goodreads

#3
Three (3) winners will each receive a merchandise swag pack of Fear the Drowning Deep from Sarah Marsh.

Read: Synopsis from Goodreads


And there you have it! All three parts of the giveaway will close at exactly 12:00 AM, 14 September 2016 – (GMT+08:00) Philippines. Results will be announced the following day. All winners will be contacted via email and will be given 2 days (48 hours) to respond in order to claim their respective prizes. Otherwise, new winners will be randomly drawn.

Allow me to end this post by featuring a rather short wishlist. (It is my birthday, after all.) I’m a fairly normal person with an inherent, instinctive greed just as any other normal person (read: people are insatiable by nature). If I were to enumerate all the things I wanted for my birthday, the list would end up spanning a length so great even I wouldn’t want to read it.

Having said that, I’ve decided to introduce my love for the Book Depository’s discounted books as I am a massive sucker for bargains and well duh, books. These are only a handful of the many titles I’d want to personally own:

Wink, wink.

Twitter: @bookshelfbitch ‧ Instagram ‧ Goodreads ‧ Bloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

76 thoughts on “Celebrate my 20th birthday and blog relaunch with me! || GIVEAWAY”

  1. Belated Happy Birthday to you! More followers and readers to come! Your blog page is really inspiring and made me realize that I should organize my random blog. Haha thank you for great reviews and posts! Can’t wait to see more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you, girl! I feel awfully uncomfortable when things aren’t organized, tbh. πŸ˜‚ I think your blog looks great as it is! But if you really have your heart set on organizing it and making the overall layout look neater, I’ll be glad to offer a bit of advice. 😊 Good luck in the giveaway!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Eveline! 😊 Honestly, it’s been a rather tough and terrifying pill to swallow. I can’t believe I can never use the “-teen” suffix ever again to describe myself age-wise! But for the most part, I want to focus on looking forward to what’s next for me and what the next year will bring. As cheesy as that sounds.

      Like

  2. Belated Birthday Wishes! ❀
    You've got quite a style in writing that warms up my time while inviting a few chuckles. It's indeed really good to hear from you. Those books on you wishlist seem interesting. Everything Everything is a delight ❀
    I hope you have a great day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks, Warisha! πŸ’–πŸ’• You’re too kind, and hearing (or rather, reading) those compliments made me feel very happy. 😊

      I can’t wait to get my hands on Everything, Everything! I’ve been eyeing that book for what feels like ages.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy 20th, Shealea! I’ve stalked some of your most recent posts and I’m sorry to hear that things have been quite tough – hopefully it’s on its way up now. If it means anything at all, my year of turning 20 was super stressful too for various reasons, but after I turned 20 it’s been pretty great! Adulthood is scary, but it definitely has its pros. πŸ˜›

    Hope you had a fabulous birthday! Did you do anything exciting?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you, Reg! πŸ’“πŸ’• I’m honestly feeling a whole lot better. Right now, I’m just looking forward to whatever comes next. (Even if the whole adulthood thing seems pretty frightening.)

      Unfortunately, both of my parents and my littlest sister were feeling under the weather throughout the weekend. Because of that, we opted to have a small, low-key dinner at home. Not much excitement there, to be honest. But I don’t mind! 😊 I felt incredibly blessed to be able to go home and to celebrate with my family despite the horrible rainy weather and recent floods in our area.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Norah! πŸ’– And yes!!! Cary’s one-liners on Twitter are constantly messing with my emotions. 😭 After finishing Gambit (twice), I was left with a lot of questions. I can hardly wait for the sequel!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAAAY!! ❀

    And woah, you're birthday is two days after mine, and we're both twenty! Sort of coincidence? πŸ˜‚ Anyway, I hope that you'll have a great one, with delicious food, lots of smiles, wonderful presents and more ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Aria!!! πŸ’–πŸ’•

      And belated happy birthday! I hope your day was just as special! πŸŽ‰ The stars have spoken, I think. We’re destined to be friends who celebrate books, blogging and the wonders of being August babies! πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Today is the 14th here in Kenya so let me wish you a happy birthday again, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! ❀
    What are you looking forward to most as you turn 20?
    Also what are you studying in college?
    Me Before You is so damn good! I hope you get to read it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you! πŸŽ‰

      Hmm, the only thing I’m hoping for is a better year ahead of me. The latter part of my 19th year was kind of depressing and difficult. But anyway, aside from that, I’m looking forward to discovering more about myself and what I really want to do with my life. As cheesy as that sounds. πŸ˜‚

      I’m taking up engineering. And yes, oh my god! I’ve heard nothing but fantastic things about the book! I’ve been wanting to read it for the longest time. I loved the movie! ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ow! I’m sorry to hear that 😦 sending good and positive vibes your way, you’ll have a great year πŸ™‚
        haha it’s not cheesy at all, I totally get that
        Engineering? Whoa! You go girl βœŠπŸ˜ƒ
        I haven’t watched the movie, yet and I don’t know why lol

        Like

    1. Thank you!!! ❀️

      And to answer your question, yes. Or at least, it used to be that way. For the longest time, the Philippine education system was comprised of six years in elementary and four years in high school — which meant that people would graduate from high school at the age of 15 or 16. It was very rare for schools to have 7th and 8th grade levels.

      However, a few years ago, the K-12 system was approved and implemented nationwide. This introduced a brand new education system and the establishment of grades 11 and 12 in the high school level. So now, the younger generations have six years in elementary and six years in high school. This was done for multiple reasons; one of which is the issue regarding the high unemployment rate in the country. Because of K-12, a high school graduate can now apply for jobs without needing a college degree. Granted, professional careers will still require undergraduate degrees and the jobs available for high school graduates are limited.

      I hope that helps! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow that’s so interesting. I have lived in China for 6 years now and worked with several women from the Philippines and I never knew that.

        I had always hoped in my time here that I would have time to travel to the Philippines but I just never got around to it I guess. My mom travelled there twice and loved it.

        Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

