Midyear wrap-up, plans for the next half and a somewhat goodbye

Because everyone else is doing it.

I’m partly kidding. The last time I did a wrap-up post was way back in February. After that, I started to gradually decline into a blogging slump due to college struggles and org-related work. You know how it is. With that said, since it’s halfway through the year, I thought this would be an opportune time to sum up everything I’ve missed and everything I’ve done so far. Additionally, I’ve also come to realize that a few of my plans have to be publicly announced as well.

Yep, okay. Here we go!

Books I’ve read and reviewed!
Note: The book reviews are arranged according to post publication date.

January 2016

February 2016

March 2016

May 2016

June 2016

Books I’ve read but have yet to review!

  • Significance by Shelly Crane
  • Defiance Rising by Amy Miles
  • You Were Here by Cori McCarthy
  • Playing Defense by Cate Cameron
  • Girl of Myth and Legend by Giselle Simlett
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  • Marry Your Billionaire by C.J. Anaya
  • Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire
  • When You’re Ready by J.L. Berg
  • The Billionaire’s Need by Crystal Kaswell
  • Fair Play by Tracy A. Ward
  • Adorkable by Cookie O’Gorman
  • The Arrangement by Brandy Ayers
  • Surviving High School by Lele Pons
  • Painting Sky by Rita Branches
  • Undecided by Jullianna Keyes
  • Cloaked by T.F. Walsh
  • Speaking Greek by Selena Laurence
  • The Randy Romance Novelist by Meghan Quinn
  • Rebels by Sarah Noffke
  • Warriors by Sarah Noffke

Plans for the next half of the year?

For what feels like the longest time, I’ve been wanting to redecorate my blog because I am immensely dissatisfied with the current layout. For one thing, the navigation isn’t quite as easy and accessible as I want it to be. Also, I personally find minimalist layouts a whole lot more appealing, aesthetically and spatially speaking. And there are plenty more reasons as to why I dislike how That Bookshelf Bitch is designed.

Upon further contemplation, I started asking myself, why stop there? Why stop with just changing the overall layout of the blog? Why stop with just switching to another WordPress template? Why stop there? And then came (what feels to be) an overdue epiphany. With six months of blogging under my belt, it is now the opportune (and arguably, the most crucial) time to establish the identity and brand of That Bookshelf Bitch. I know that I am not a professional—well, anything, really. And I realize that blogging is, for the most part, just a hobby. But who’s to say that that should stop me from shaping my blog — a space that is solely, wonderfully mine, by the way — into whatever I want it to be and elevating its potential? Who says I can’t integrate my skills in marketing and in secretariat work into the development of my blog? I consider That Bookshelf Bitch as more than a hobby; I perceive this blog as an extension of myself. And really, what’s wrong with wanting to improve myself, yes?

This is exactly the line of thinking that has led me to this decision. I will be taking my blog down on July 8th. This will be done so that I can work on reconstructing, redesigning and ultimately redefining my blog at my own pace and as I deem fit. This will be a transformation that will demand a lot of time, effort and reflection on my part.

Aside from completely tearing down my current layout and whipping up an entirely new one, I will also dedicate a portion of my time in refining the new blog features I have in mind. You see, when I started blogging, I wanted an online platform that would cater mainly and solely to books and book-related discussions. I never planned on sharing so much of myself and of my personal life online. But that has changed. I no longer want a blog that revolves around books and literature; instead, I want to refocus my blog into highlighting the writer in me. I can’t quite put this in the right words. But that’s what I want. I want this blog to better reflect who I am and what I’m trying to accomplish here.

Furthermore, I want to provide an altogether different service for underappreciated and emerging authors. I want to promote their works in ways writing book reviews cannot fully achieve. I hope to do this by finally establishing Project IDEA: Independent, Deserving, Emerging Authors. This is still a really rough work in progress so I’m hoping that I’ll eventually figure things out. I’m also working on a discussion-type series regarding tips for book blogging.

In addition to the things I’ve already mentioned, I think it’s pretty obvious that I’m still way behind on my book reviews. Which is just frustrating. I typically get distracted by blog posts and reviews about other books, so I’m hoping that by taking some time off, I’ll be able to get to them, consequently putting myself back on the right track.

Finally, I have some other sideline projects and tasks that I have to finish as well. Basically, I guess what I’m trying to say is that it will certainly take time for me to achieve all these goals and objectives. With that, I believe that this is a necessary course of action to take. Definitely, That Bookshelf Bitch will be taken down this July 8th and will be relaunched some time in August (hopefully before my birthday).

Cheers!

Twitter: @bookshelfbitch ‧ Instagram ‧ Goodreads ‧ Bloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

49 thoughts on “Midyear wrap-up, plans for the next half and a somewhat goodbye”

  1. I’m sad to see you go, but I’m certain you’ll come back with a bang! I’m super excited to see what your blog is going to look like and Project IDEA seems really interesting 😁 (I only now realised that the letters spell out the word idea haha)
    I’m looking forward to that day in august when you’ll come back!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t wait to see what your new look will be! Also, project IDEA sounds great, I’m really looking forward to seeing how it takes shape ☺️ best of luck x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wishing you are the love and luck for it all ❀ I hope everything goes really well for you! I KNOW that when you come back, your blog will be SPECTUCULAR and I'll stand here and gape and stare and LOVE. I'll miss your awesomeness until then πŸ™‚ Have fun and ALL THE BEST! ❀ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Such big plans! Good luck with it all! I think it is a great idea to change the blog to make it more like you and get the perfect place for your new goals. I am really looking forward to the new That Bookshelf Bitch! I am terrible at themes and design so I hope to stay satisfied with my current look for another couple of years, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, they kind of are. I am pretty nervous about the entire thing and I hope to all the gods — both the old and the new — that everything falls into place. πŸ˜‚ Thank you!

      By the way, your current look is adorable and I love your blog’s name! πŸ’“

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I tried to talk myself out of it because I’d really miss blogging. But it can’t be helped, I guess. I’m thankful that you’re being really supportive about it. 😊 Will definitely miss you, Fatima!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my!! I think that’s a great idea as well. I’ve been wanting to redesign the shit out of mine as well, but without pestering my readers with having to look at different layouts every time. Temporarily taking it down seems like the most clever thing to do :). Good luck!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s exactly my problem, too! It seems like a pretty sloppy and lazy thing to do.

      If you really want to redesign your layout, maybe you should take a few days off as well! Of course, it’s totally your call. And whatever you decide, I’d 100% support you. 😊

      Anyway, thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

