Shealea gets her first physical review copy!

The post title speaks for itself, really. I’ve already talked about this both on Twitter and in my recent giveaway post. However, I have so much excitement left over that I can still force it to spill out into another blog post! Can you really blame me though? I’ve only dreamed of getting my hands on an actual physical review copy in passing. And it’s happened(!!!).

All right. Let’s talk about details, yes?

Way back in March, the lovely (and overly generous) Carole Avila sent me an email, commending my “straightforward approach” and noting that I have a “refreshingly edgy voice” – which may or may not have spurred on happy tears. Aside from validating my entire blogging existence and making my day with her kind words, Carole also shared her novel, a YA horror/paranormal romance, with me. After reading the first three chapters of Death House, I was definitely more than willing to give it a go!

Truth be told, I’ve steered clear of any horror reads all my life. I mean, I read a Stephen King novel once which bored the wits out of me. I know his books are popular and he’s very respected in the horror genre, but Cell just was not for me. I apologize Stephen King fans. But I digress. The first three chapters of Death House completely reeled me in! I have a different feeling about this horror novel – a good feeling! Additionally, the premise is pretty fascinating as well. I’ve decided to include the book’s synopsis and some links so everyone gets a chance to know more about it!


GENRE:

Young Adult, Horror, Paranormal Romance

SYNOPSIS:

Fifteen year-old Adley is on a terrifying journey! She has yet to learn that something sinister haunts her grandmother’s old mansion, or that it hides in a dark portal beneath her bed. The demonic being born of a generational curse does more than negatively affect Adley’s mood—it kills the first born child in each succeeding family by their 16th birthday—and Adley’s birthday is just around the corner! She meets seventeen year-old Victor Trumillo, a descendant of the original victim, and only he can destroy the hideous creature. Victor and Adley want to end the curse and save future lives, but will they succumb to fear just as they may have discovered real love?

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository | Excerpt from the book

AUTHOR LINKS

Blog | Twitter | Goodreads


I received my physical copy of the novel last June 4, 2016. According to the little note Carole attached to the ARC, she sent the package on May 20th. Good job, Philippine mail and package delivery system. I’m half-kidding. Regardless, my many, many thanks go out to Carole for the novel! I’m definitely excited to give this one a read.

Speaking of mail and packages, I also received the following book from a Goodreads giveaway! I was totally confused at first because I genuinely could not remember entering the giveaway, but even so, I’m very happy about it. It’s my first time to win a book from Goodreads so that’s kind of cool.

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

27 thoughts on “Shealea gets her first physical review copy!”

  1. Ahh, congratulations on receiving your first physical ARC! That’s so exciting 🙂 I’ve never been sent a physical ARC, but I did receive one as a gift? It’s a long story haha. You must be so happy, though! Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s so cool! Just imagining the feeling of receiving a book in the mail that just came out of nowhere and to of course get such compliments on your blog (deservingly so) 😁 And it’s even greater that you’re actually liking the book, because it would’ve been awkward if that wasn’t the case haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, I was a bit grumpy at first. The package arrived while I was still asleep! My mother suddenly barged into my room, woke me up and asked, “What did you do? Why do you have a package?” I don’t remember what I said. I probably mumbled incoherent nonsense because all I could focus on was my interrupted sleep(!!!). It took a couple of hours (and a cup of coffee) for it to really sink in that OH MY GOD MY ARC IS HERE MY ARC IS HERE MY ARC IS HERE! 😂 I’m rambling — sorry. But thanks as always, Jonas! 💕

      Like

      1. I’m also one of those people who doesn’t really knows what’s going on when I wake up. I always need some time to get fully human haha My parents don’t even look up anymore whenever I get a package. They’ve gotten used to it, because it happens an awful lot of times 😂 Anyway, have fun reading your ARC!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. NetGalley was my first means of receiving ARCs. I signed up for it last December, when I was still just a Goodreads reviewer. I think I was given two or three ARCs right away. All in a few days. 😊 When I finally did start my blog, it was beginning to become easier to get approved.

      Somewhere in between, I started getting contacted by authors and publishers via email, hoping for a review request. That’s actually how I was able to discover Carole and her novel!

      Anyway. I’ve stopped requesting for books in NetGalley as I already have 84 unreviewed books in my NetGalley shelf. Currently, I only deal with review requests via email.

      I’m not sure if I what I said answers your question — sorry! But if you have anything else you’d like to know, I’ll do my best to answer. 😊

      Like

  3. OH Congratulations on getting your first physical ARC, that’s incredible! 😀 That’s not likely to happen for me I think, so I hope that’s okay I feel giddy with happiness just as much as you, for you ❤ I really hope you'll enjoy both books you talked about there! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I honestly don’t believe that. I’m sure you’ll get one soon enough! 😊 You’re just as deserving, really. But thank you for the support! 😘🎉 I’m glad I have you to celebrate with me. And I hope I enjoy them, too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah you are so, so sweet ❤ It's just because I'm living in France I barely tried sending physical ARCs requests, because I know with the shipping fees and the amount of bloggers, it's hard to have a chance 🙂 But thank you!! I can't wait to hear your thoughts about these 🙂

        Like

  4. Congratulations on winning the giveaway for Undoubtedly Yours and congratulations as well for getting your first physical ARC! What an achievement – hope you enjoy the book. I agree with Carole that you do have a wonderfully edgy voice. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

