Awards || The Liebster Award (Pt. 2)

This morning I told myself I’d write at least two book reviews – and I totally will! You know, eventually. But with all the hype and excitement I’ve been feeling about my sixth month of blogging and my first ever international giveaway, I figured that doing an awards post would be a nice change of pace to ease my feels.

I’ve already done the Liebster Award once, but that was several months ago. This time, I was nominated by the wonderful Lily @ The Lily Notepad! I genuinely adore her blog, so for her to mention me made me feel really fluttery on the inside. Thank you, Lily!

I’ll probably publish a Part 3 for Liebster, seeing as my good friend Jonas from Other Things recently nominated me as well and I can’t resist answering his questions!

The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award is an award for bloggers. It helps to discover new blogs and to build a sense of community in the blogging world!

These are the rules:

1. Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.
2. Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you.
3. Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award.
4. Let the bloggers know you nominated them.
5. Give them 11 questions of your own.

Questions from Lily

1. How many books have you read so far this year? Any new favorites?

According to my Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, I’ve read 55 books out of the 69 books I’m hoping to reach by the end of this year. However, I’m pretty sure two of those 55 books were unfinished reads, so I guess the answer is really 53 books.

As for my new favorites, the first to come to mind is Gambit by C.L. Denault. I’m sure I’ve mentioned her debut novel an unhealthy number of times both on my blog and on Twitter. I just can’t help it! I’ve read Gambit twice and until now, the story still crosses my mind every now and then. I loved it, obviously. Other new favorites would be Sarah Noffke’s The Reverians trilogy – I particularly adored the latter two installments, Rebels and Warriors, You Were Here by Cori McCarthy, Through the Veil by Colleen Halverson, Painting Sky by Rita Branches, and Undecided by Julianna Keyes. Okay, I think I’m done.

2. When did you start blogging? Is there any significance behind your title or theme?

I started blogging six months and a day ago — so basically since December 17, 2015.

Before I actually created my own blog, it took me quite some time to think of a name. Honestly, I initially thought of just using my name and creating shealeairal.wordpress.com. But that didn’t feel quite right. And I couldn’t really brand my name as anything, you know? Eventually, I started browsing through several book blogs, hoping to find some inspiration. I’ve noticed that most blogs had really cute names, and I instantaneously realized that nope, okay, that is not for me. I didn’t want cute. I wanted something edgy and empowering. Something that would speak volumes. This line of thinking eventually led me to the name that bookshelf bitch.

It’s funny, really. In society, “bitch” is typically phrased and used as a derogatory term for women as the word’s textbook definition is “a dog of the female gender.” Even today, “bitch” remains as our go-to insult whenever we dislike a person. I’m guilty of this, to be honest. However, I’d like to believe that there’s an alternative meaning. Recently, the word “bitch” has evolved from a mere noun to a colloquial verb. When someone “bitches” about a certain thing, then that usually means that the person is talking about something in a no-holds-barred kind of way. And that appealed to me, you know? The idea of not holding myself back, I mean. It appealed to me because that’s what I hope to do here.

3. Do you prefer fiction or nonfiction books?

I prefer fiction books.

4. What are your goals/resolutions for 2016?

This blog is actually my resolution for 2016. This year, I hope to finally reach my triple point. In a phase diagram, the triple point of a particular substance indicates the necessary temperature and pressure at which the solid, liquid and gas states of that substance all exist in thermodynamic equilibrium. I’m far too lazy to elaborate on this haphazardly crafted metaphor, so here’s a link to my original post.

5. If you had to describe the way you dressed in three words, what would they be?

Approved by mother. I don’t come from an extremely conservative family or anything, but my mother likes to constantly comment on what I wear. I don’t always listen to her though.

6. If you just received a million dollars, what would you spend it on first?

I wish I could say books, but that would be an obvious lie. I’d save the money to cover the expenses for my education and my little sisters’ education.

7. If you could travel anywhere, what would your ideal vacation/trip look like?

Backpacking all over Europe! I’d visit as many landmarks as I can, try out cute cafes and restaurants and take plenty of photos of their food. I’d go to parks and soak up as much culture as I can. And right before going back to the Philippines, I just have to make a stop in Japan! I mean, what’s an ideal vacation without gorgeous kimonos and Harry Potter-themed amusement parks and different flavors of Kitkat, right?

8. Where do you prefer to write your blog posts?

I actually dislike writing in my dorm room. I prefer writing in the library or in a café or in my bedroom back in Pampanga (my home province).

9. If you could try any profession for the day, what would you try?

Okay, this honestly took me some time to answer. I just can’t pick one, so I’ve narrowed it down to three professions. I’d like to try to be a kindergarten teacher because I love kids and I think it would be wonderful (and incredibly fun) to work with kids. I’d maybe want to try industrial engineering. I’ve been interested in that field of engineering since my freshman year in college, and to be honest, I’ve thought of transferring into that degree program instead. Multiple times. And finally, I’d want to be a model. I know I’m not cut out for it and whatever. Also, I’m painfully shy and taking photos of myself usually causes me frustration, but for a day, it seems like a pretty fun experience. I’d like to see how the industry works and what it’s actually like. I used to be a huge fan of America’s Next Top Model so I’d like to sate all my curiosities.

10. What’s your favorite poem/quote? What significance does it have to your life?

Poetry has always interested me but I’ve never really dabbled in it as much as I’d like to. With that said, the poems I’ve read are few in number. So far, my favorites are Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken and Dylan Thomas’s Do not go gentle into that good night. They’re perfect reads whenever I’m second guessing my life decisions and whenever I feel like giving up on myself.

11. How do you prefer to channel your creativity? (Reading, writing, music, etc…)

Writing. Definitely writing.

My Questions for the Nominees<

1. Since it’s halfway through the year, what are the best and worst reads you’ve encountered so far this 2016?

2. What fear have you overcome this year? If you haven’t yet, what fear would you like to overcome?

3. If you were a Pokemon gym leader, what type of Pokemon (i.e. fire, water, electric) would you be battling with?

4. What genre (book/movie/whatever) have you never tried? Would you consider giving it a shot one day?

5. What are your go-to activities whenever you feel like procrastinating?

6. Has a song ever inspired you to write or to create something? What’s the title of the song? How did it inspire you?

7. Who are your favorite and least favorite fictional heroines?

8. What fictional OTP are you most strongly against and why? (Read: NOTP)

9. What is the one thing you dislike so much you’ll never run out of reasons to rant about it?

10. What is the most inspiring thing you’d ever been told by someone?

11. Which blogger(s) have you admired from a distance (so to speak) and want to be friends with?

Nominations

For this award, I’ve decided to nominate bloggers I don’t frequently talk to but want to get to know more!

Betty @ Bookish Regards, Charley @ A Writer Named Charley, Shannon @ Clockwork Bibliophile, Ara @ The Bookish Agenda, Cody @ Childishly Passionate, Nessa @ Bookish Nessa, Melissa @ BookNerdMomo, Marie @ Drizzle & Hurricane Books, Liam @ Hey Ashers, Yarravy @ Hiraeth For The Pages.

And you! If you’re up for it.

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

43 thoughts on “Awards || The Liebster Award (Pt. 2)”

  1. AHHH, thank you so much for your nomination! I would LOVE to know you more too ❤ Though this blog post does give me a pretty good headstart doesn't it 😉 I love all your answers! I LOVE LOVE LOVE kids but I don't think I could be a teacher XD I fear that I would get WAY too distracted awing at the kids to do anything productive for them. I'd much rather stay in the corner of the room and just stare at them WAY too much 🙂 I also LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE your name! That's so interesting and I love the meaning behind it! And your answer to what to do with a million dollars? I love that so much! Thank you again and FANTASTIC POST 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, you’re too sweet! ❤️ And regarding the nomination, don’t mention it! I hope you get the chance to answer my questions. I’m really curious to see what we have in common other than our love for books! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers! It’s lovely to find out more about you. I think the name of your blog gives the exact impression that you intended it to. I really like that you put a lot of thought into how you wanted people to perceive your blog 🙂

    Your answer to question 6 is also quite admirable. A lot of people would probably answer “buy more books”, but to pay for both you and your sister’s education? That’s quite amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you for the compliments! We are living in a digital age — where information is instantly within our fingertips but not all accessible information is completely true. It’s so easy to be misinformed, misinterpreted and/or misguided. This is why education means so much to me. Education doesn’t only teach us how to differentiate thinking from understanding. It also passes down a set of principles that inspires us to actively seek the truth. 😊

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You took the words right out of my mouth (and phrased it a whole lot better). So true. I’m nodding in agreement. What could be more important than educating the future generations?

        Out of curiosity, do you have any plans after graduating? I wanted to be a teacher for a short time in my life, but hahaha that’s impossible for me (I’d get too shy). I prefer tutoring. 🙂

        Like

        1. Honestly, my third year in college was pretty rough. I became really depressed and unmotivated. Thankfully, I feel a whole lot better and life has picked up recently. 😊 Still, those bad experiences have forced me to rethink and reevaluate the career path I’m trying to pursue. If my degree program really is for me, if I still want it, if I can see myself doing that line of work for years, if I’m feeling any kind of fulfillment as I study the material — stuff like that.

          Initially, my plan was to graduate, pass the board exam and hopefully find a nice job outside the country (not that there’s anything wrong with the Philippines; I just kind of want to live as independently as possible). However, I think that plan will have to change. I’m still trying to figure out what I want. Maybe I’ll switch degrees or maybe I’ll take up a second undergraduate degree right after graduating. I don’t really know yet. 😊

          I’ve never considered teaching. It sounds like a fantastic thing to do, but I don’t trust the future and the minds of the youth in my hands. 😂 And I’m painfully shy as well.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m really sorry to hear that 😦 I have a lot of friends who had similar experiences, and watching them go through that definitely made me think twice. In the past when I had anxiety problems it would completetely overwhelm me, and I decided I just didn’t want to feel like that anymore. The questions you ask yourself are all completely valid, and of course you shouldn’t feel pressurised to stick to a career either. Until you figure out what route you want to take, it’s perfectly okay to try everything. It’s more exciting that way! 😀

            Like

            1. Aww, there’s no need to be sorry! It was tough, yes, but it was also strangely uplifting.

              For three years (wow, that’s a long time), I’ve tried to make it work. I’ve tried to force myself to love a degree program I can’t even appreciate. For some time, I was pretty ashamed of myself for wanting to give up on a career path that is prestigious, practical and financially promising. I was frustrated for investing so much time on something I really can’t be passionate about. But I’ve recently arrived at a weird sense of peace.

              I mean, this shouldn’t completely surprise me. When I graduated from high school, I was just sixteen years old! Plus, the only careers my alma mater advertised were in the fields of business, architecture and medicine. It’s silly to adamantly stick to a decision an ill-informed, young girl made because really, at the time, I didn’t know any better.

              While it’s sad to think that I’ve invested a lot of time in my current degree program, I’m also feeling quite relieved to finally have a better grasp regarding what I truly want. And I’m thankful. I really am. I’m still at a disadvantageous position right now because I don’t have a legitimate plan yet. But I don’t know. I’m not entirely nervous about it. I’m actually quite hopeful and I’m looking forward to whatever happens.

              Like

              1. Honestly, that’s a great way to think. It’s not possible to know what’s best for you at 16, but you’re in a more informed position now. That means your experience (tough though it was) is invaluable. I admire that you were able to take something from it. 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. Ah, that’s an interesting question! Haha 🙂 Well, due to mental health reasons, I decided to not go to university and take some time off (so I’m currently on a gap year) – but I’ve decided that writing is what I want to go forward with, and I think I’ve been quite lucky with connections too. I’m determined to publish this book someday, but I’m also quite nervous and I (obviously) have no idea if it will be. For now, I’m happy to say I don’t have any anxiety problems. I’m told all the time that I made a mistake, but I’m honestly much happier now 🙂

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. That sounds great! I’m glad you’re doing pretty well for yourself and that you’re determined to pursue your passion. Not a lot of people get to do that, so I’d say you’re very blessed! And honestly, how can chasing after what makes you happy ever be a mistake? Keep doing whatever you’re doing as long as you’re feeling fulfilled! Because feeling a sense of purpose can never stem from making mistakes.

                      Also, hit me up once you’re a published author! I’d love to read whatever you write. 😊

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Haha aw, thank you so much Shealea! Your support means a lot to me 🙂 I’m still far from publishing, but I’m enjoying the process and researching a lot!

                      Like

    1. It’s not a problem! Hope you take the time to answer my questions because I’m really curious. 😊 And yes!!! Oh my god. Sometimes I just want to take a year off and travel until my heart is content. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m definitely going to 😊! I probably won’t have it up until next weekend because of school though. I love your question by the way. It’s going to be fun answering them 😄. Same! I can imagine a whole year of just books and travel. That would be amazing. If only traveling were cheaper. 😅😂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I totally get what you mean. In my last semester (which was just a few weeks ago — I’m on my midyear break right now), I took a pretty long blogging hiatus because college was so crazy hectic! Anyway. Take your time. I’m looking forward to your answers though! 😊 And yes! The expenses are just as insane. The struggle is real. 😂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Great answers! I loved reading how your blog got its name. I was wondering how you came up with it! Looks like we started blogging within a couple of weeks of one another. (I started mine on December 2, 2015.)

    I love the questions, so I’ll go ahead and do a Liebster part two after I get my latest review written. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my, so you recently celebrated your 6th monthsary as well. Congratulations, girl!!! 😊🎉 We’ve got a long way to go, but personally, I think 6 months is already something to be proud of. Looking forward to seeing our blogs grow even more! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Congrats to you, as well! Six months is definitely something to be proud of. It’s not easy sticking with it some days. I’m going to be optimistic and say both our blogs will keep growing and getting better and better. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love Robert Frost’s poems as well! 🙂 My personal favorite aside from The Road Not Taken is Fire and Ice.

    And – AHHHH thanks for the nomination!! I’d love to know you more as well. Is there a meet-up for Filipino book bloggers or something? I think it would be so fun! And thanks for the wonderful questions, too! I can’t wait to answer them. By the way, I also nominated you for an award. I’m not sure if you’ve already seen it, but here’s the link: https://thebookishagenda.wordpress.com/2016/06/16/book-fangirling-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh! Fire and Ice is so beautiful! I adored it as well. 😊 I’m hoping to read more poetry though.

      I have no idea, to be honest. I typically don’t have the time (and money) to attend book signings so a casual meet-up for Filipino book bloggers sounds awesome. Let’s talk about it some time! 😉 And oh my, I haven’t seen it yet. I disabled my pings for a while. But I’ll definitely check it out now!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am, too – especially the classics. Nowadays the only poetry I read are those on tumblr and instagram, haha! Not that there’s anything wrong with them, though.

        Yay, me too! And usually the signings are in Manila, and I’m all the way over at Laguna or Cavite so I really couldn’t come 😦

        I’ve actually been thinking about it, and I figured it would be best to meet at MIBF this September. Actually, I’m pretty sure there’s already a meet-up being organized by seasoned bloggers and we just haven’t heard about it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

