Valentine’s Day 2016

I’ve always enjoyed writing emotional pieces because it’s accompanied by a soothing, healing essence. Incredibly cathartic, really. Initially, I wanted to write about what the 14th of February represents: relationships, love, romance – even though I’ve never had a firsthand experience in any of them.

Up until now, I’m still not quite certain what I specifically wanted to write. Maybe I could have written about how fictional stories and media work hand in hand to create unrealistic expectations of relationships. Maybe I could have written about how the commitment demanded in serious relationships freaks me out. Maybe I could have written about the idea of “us” and debated on whether it was an actual possibility or a hallucination that came to mind at 3 in the bloody morning. Maybe I could have written about unconditional love. Or how I don’t mind that I’m still single. Or how a person’s self-worth isn’t measured by the number of people pursuing him/her. Maybe I could have written about how I’m looking forward to find the kind of love I’ve only ever read about in novels and in books. Maybe I could have written one of those silly “Why You Should Date a ____” pieces. (Speaking of, there’s a “Date a Chemical Engineer” article released by our department. I found it entertaining.)

Whatever it may be, it obviously isn’t happening.

Due to time constraints, I was unable to take a seat and to actually write anything substantial down. Exams, academic requirements, obligations, responsibilites – same old, same old. It sucks. My inability to write what I want and when I want frustrates me more and more as time passes by. But whatever.

Anyway. What the hell am I doing this February 14, you ask? I’m having the loveliest date with three brilliant people: Smith, Van Ness, and Abbott. Who are they, you ask? Why, they’re the authors of the book I’m holding in the photo above. *waits for that to sink in*

Yep, I’m spending my Valentine’s Day in a quaint little coffee shop, reading about thermodynamics and calculating the latent heat of vaporization of saturated liquid and vapor tetrafluoroethane at particular temperatures by making use of the vapor pressures as a function of temperature and of the saturated-liquid and saturated-vapor volumes. Among other fun, equally romantic activities. Yay.

Seriously though, it isn’t that bad. I’m actually in the mood to study today. And I have a friend with me, so really, this isn’t the most terrible way to spend what could be considered as the most romantic day of the year.

Now that I think about it, my current predicament reminds me of that one episode from The Big Bang Theory. Which one, you ask?

Raj: Did you go to your prom?

Sheldon: No, I had a date with proper education. Instead of a tuxedo, I dressed myself in good habits. Instead of spiked punch, I enjoyed the intoxicating flavor of knowledge. Instead of dancing in a gym, I shook my booty to the seductive rhythms—

Penny: Okay, okay.

Sheldon: — of AP Calculus.

Yep, basically me in a nutshell.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!!! 😍💓💕


Actually written on February 14, 2016 (Philippine time).


Twitter: @bookshelfbitch ‧ Instagram ‧ Goodreads ‧ Bloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

6 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day 2016”

  1. Hi after recently creating my own blog, I discovered yours! Dang I think it”s amazing that you’re able to balance college and this incredible blog at the same time. Hands together for you! Oh and Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Like

  2. Love Sheldon from Big Bang! I wanted to be reading today but got caught up in other stuff. Considering I have to finish the book before Wednesday for a book tour, I guess I know what I will be doing all night 😉

    Like

Your two cents?

