Mini Reviews || Batch 3

The books for Batch 3 are as follows:

  • Mayan Blood by Theresa DeLayne
  • Homewrecker Incorporated by S. Simone Chavous
  • Can’t Lose You by J.R. Brown


Title: Mayan Blood
Author: Theresa DeLayne
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Mythology
Copy: Digital
Rating:

* More about the book.
* More about the author.
* Purchase via Amazon or The Book Depository.

Official synopsis:

Their empires have fallen, but their mythology lives on…

Zanya Coreandero is a seventeen-year-old orphan with only a single friend and no hope for a normal life. Diagnosed with anxiety and night terrors, no one believes her cuts and bruises are a result of an evil entity, and not a brutal case of self-harm.

With the only home she’s ever known being the isolated institution—-where breakfast is a handful of medications, the psychiatry sessions are mandatory, and her every move is watched—-the only relief is her red-haired roommate named Tara, who’s more like a little sister than her best friend.

Free will is strong, but destiny is stronger.

When Zanya is kidnapped, she meets a group of gifted Mayan descendants, each with a unique ability. Gone from a nameless castaway to the only hope of mankind, Zanya is forced to make a grueling decision: bond with an enchanted stone and save humanity from rising underworld forces, or watch helplessly as Earth falls victim to a familiar dark deity from her dreams. This time, he’s playing for keeps.

A wicked secret hides behind a handsome face…

When Arwan, a dark-eyed timebender, takes interest in Zanya’s mission, it’s unclear if his intention is to help, or if he’s on a hell-bent mission for revenge. Wary of falling for another guy with major secrets and a tainted past, Zanya fights to keep her distance. If only her heart gave her a choice.

Review:

Before anything else,I received an Advanced Reading Copy (ARC) of this book (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, Theresa DeLayne and Limitless Publishing!

Mayan Blood is DeLayne’s debut novel and is the first book of the Stone Legacy series. I enjoyed a significant portion of this book; I say “significant portion” because I had numerous problems and issues with it. But more on that later.

In my opinion, the most notable element of this book is the world-building and the concept itself. This is the first book I’ve read that highlighted the Mayan civilization, which I found to be really, really cool. The world-building was a beautiful, balanced blend of ancient and paranormal elements that led to the construction of a fascinating fantastical realm I wanted to keep reading about. The manner in which the Mayan’s mythology was interlaced into the story was quite remarkable. Additionally, I liked how it was revealed in the novel.

“Many millennia ago, the gods feared for mankind. They knew humanity was no match for the underworlders, who strove to control every realm in their quest for power. As a result, the middleworld gods, who have limited abilities, pleaded with the deities of heaven to help protect mankind. Seeing the poor chances the humans stood to defend themselves, they gave the people a tool; a stone from the earth, blessed with the ability to transform human into Riyata. A guardian was chosen to protect the stone, and for generations, did. That is, until she was captured, slaughtered, and the stone was taken from her possession.”

In general, the book was a fairly decent read, although I would have preferred to see more character development and better written action scenes. There were instances wherein it seemed like the story was losing its direction. My main problem, however, was the copy I received. The copy given to me was poorly edited and contained plentiful grammatical errors and missing phrases. An example is as follows:

“Not me. Tara.” Zanya

Halloween movie night at

grinned, recalling the orphanage.

I tried to immerse myself in this story and to overlook the many grammatical flaws and technical mistakes. However, these erroneous passages were not only distracting but downright off-putting. They prevented me from fully appreciating the story. As such, I cannot, in good conscience, give Mayan Blood a higher rating. Still, I intend to read the succeeding books. I’m quite interested in discovering what’s in store for Zanya and the rest of characters.


Review also available: Goodreads


Title: Homewrecker Incorporated
Author: S. Simone Chavous
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Copy: Digital
Rating:

* More about the book.
* More about the author.
* Purchase via Amazon or The Book Depository.

Official synopsis:

* Don’t let the title fool you, this is a story about true love, not cheating.

Without love, marriage is just business. At least that’s what Claudia Mason tells the women who seek her firm’s unique services. With wealthy husbands who see their wedding rings as meaningless pieces of jewelry, they trust Claudia to do whatever is necessary to gather the hard evidence needed to shatter an ironclad prenup.

She is the best in the business and has yet to meet a mark she couldn’t get the goods on–solidifying her belief that no man can be trusted. After landing a client who is her ticket to retirement, she is on top of the world. Until a chance encounter with Greyston Michaels turns her carefully controlled world upside down.

Greyston shows Claudia a part of herself she thinks she’s lost, making her question everything she believes about men-—and love. But in Claudia’s world, following her heart is bad for business. And business is everything.

Review:

I received a digital copy of this book (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, S. Simone Chavous!

Truthfully, I did not expect much from this book. I’m not a huge fan of lust-driven love stories and additionally, the premise in the book blurb was not that impressive. However, I enjoyed reading this book more than I initially expected.

Homewrecker Incorporated was a nice change of pace compared to the most of the previous books I’ve recently read. It was humorous, evenly paced and very easy to breeze through. A definite lighthearted read, if anything. Even though the story’s premise appears to be quite taboo, I was pleasantly surprised to find a bit of substance in this story. Certainly, there is an underlying depth present throughout Chavous’s novel. Personally, the most admirable thing about this book was the fact that despite its blatant predictability, I still wanted to keep reading. Make no mistake, Homewrecker Incorporated is a competently written, romantic comedy.


Review also available: Goodreads


Title: Can’t Lose You
Author: J.R. Brown
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Copy: Digital
Rating:

* More about the book.
* More about the author.
* Purchase via Amazon or The Book Depository.

Official synopsis:

My name is Elizabeth Grace Payton. I just graduated high school and am looking forward to enjoying my last summer with Jayce before we go off to college together. Jayce isn’t just my boyfriend, he’s my everything.

I’ve heard stories about people saying there can be one moment that changes their entire life. As if this moment flipped their entire life upside down. They said that once that moment happened things never went back to what could’ve been, what should’ve been. I always thought these people were being a little dramatic. I mean, how could one moment change everything? Change your entire life? Well, apparently I was naïve because that’s exactly what happened to me and I never even saw it coming.

One night changed everything. I ended up in the wrong place, at the wrong time. My dreams, my future, and my life were taken away from me. I can no longer be Elizabeth Grace Payton.

I am now Riley Lynn Anderson.

Review:

I received a digital copy of this book (via NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, J.R. Brown!

I’ll be blunt. Can’t Lose You was not my cup of tea. I guess this is mainly because most of the story did not make sense to me, particularly the reason behind Elizabeth’s involvement with the Witness Protection Program. I mean, one moment everything was normal and the story started pretty decently… and then a few pages later, she was suddenly in a creepy gasoline station and her life took an immediate turn towards absolute shit? Okay, I’m being kind of vague, but I think that anyone who’s read the book would notice how ridiculous the circumstances of the “crime” were. Right then and there, I just knew that this book wasn’t right for me. But I kept reading, hoping for some kind of redemption.

Unfortunately, nothing of the sort happened. I didn’t like how cheesy the romance between the characters was. Or maybe that’s just me. Other than that, all I felt towards everything was indifference. I struggled to connect with any of the characters and I found the reading experience to be quite tedious. Why? I honestly don’t know. What I do know is that while the book was in no way horrible or poorly written, nothing about the story piqued my interest.


Review also available: Goodreads

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

2 thoughts on “Mini Reviews || Batch 3”

  1. Woah you’re really fast. That’s great. I’ve got a friend reading the “Mayan blood” too. Boy! This is such a great review. Sharing this with a friend who is thinking of a next read after she’s done with the “Mayan blood”.
    Have an enchanting weekend
    Much love, George

    Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

