Liebster Award + Blogger Recognition Award + Beautiful Blogger Award

Before anything else, I’d like to apologize for my abrupt inactivity in blogging. Well, technically, I’ve only been MIA for five or six days, which isn’t really a long while. I think. My absence will be explained via a blog post in the near future. If I don’t end up feeling too lazy, that is. Anyway, let’s move on to the point of this post.

Early on, I’ve decided against participating in blogger awards and tags. I never specifically announced it on this blog as it was more of a personal vow. While I understand that these tags and awards are meant to boost camaraderie among bloggers and to serve as an avenue to better introduce one’s self to the virtual community, these activities – and this is going to sound very vague – didn’t really feel like my sort of thing. As mentioned in my bio (hint: visit my ‘About’ page), I am not a huge fan of writing about myself. Truth be told, I’m pretty terrible at doing so, and the mere thought makes me feel very awkward. Also, I’m not so great in interviews as well. But I digress. Mainly, I wanted people to get to know me better in a way and at a pace I’m more comfortable with. That’s actually one of my intentions when I decided to establish Shealea writes – a humble category for my late night thoughts, incoherent rants, nearly unintelligible musings, meaningless scribbles and everything else in between.

However, I’ve been nominated and tagged so many times I kind of felt mean and ungrateful for continuously ignoring them. And that really isn’t the case, I swear! I am both pleasantly surprised and incredibly flattered that there are bloggers out there who believe my blog deserves to be recognized. I mean, what? That’s insane!

I’ve been nominated for the following awards by these corresponding, wonderful people:

I’ve decided to do three of these awards, namely Liebster Award, Blogger Recognition Award, and Beautiful Blogger Award. Yay! To everyone who nominated me, can I just say…

The Liebster Award

The Liebster Award is an award for bloggers. It helps to discover new blogs and to build a sense of community in the blogging world!

These are the rules:

1. Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.
2. Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you.
3. Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award.
4. Let the bloggers know you nominated them.
5. Give them 11 questions of your own.

Questions from Samer

1. What is your favorite type of junk food?

Definitely cookies and ice cream! I prefer my cookies chewy, and I prefer my ice cream in bucketful amounts.

2. What inspired you to start a blog?

Mainly the lovely blogs of other bloggers. For a more specific explanation, kindly refer to this blog post.

3. Dog or cat person?

Truth be told, I am terrified of most animals. I cannot emphasize this enough. But if I really have to pick one, I’d go with cats because I think they’re a lot cuter and oh, I’m hugely obsessed with Neko Atsume.

4. Would you consider yourself a passionate or passive reader?

Passionate, yep.

5. Are you the type to keep your resolutions or break them?

A little bit of both, if that makes any sense.

Questions from Maddie

1. What book(s) have you read more than once?

I don’t think I can remember all of them, but here are a few: Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth, The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa, Defiance by C.J. Redwine, The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

2. Do you read non-fiction books?

Only textbooks that are sort of necessary for my engineering degree. In fact, here’s a little gem from Chapter 4 of University Physics:

3. Have you ever bought a book just because the cover is really pretty?

Technically, no. I’ve never actually bought a book for myself. All the books I own are gifts.

4. Do you like to cook? Is there anything you cook that is inspired by something you’ve read?

I don’t know how, but I’ve always wanted to learn because my dad and sister are really into it.

5. Do you eat/snack while reading?

Guilty.

6. If you are stranded on an island and have only 3 books with you, what would they be?

Oh em. I’d have to go with Legend trilogy by Marie Lu.

7. Have you ever liked a movie adaptation more than the book?

Um, yes. I hated – and still loathe – the entire Twilight saga, but I found myself sort of enjoying Part 2 of Breaking Dawn.

8. Do you write stories? If you do, what kind of stories do you write?

I used to. Mostly romance with a bit of humor. They were terrible, to be honest.

9. Is there a book(s) that you didn’t want to like but end up liking anyway?

“Like” is such a strong word. But here are a few of my guilty reading pleasures: Fallen by Lauren Kate, Delirium by Lauren Oliver and Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

10. On a scale of 1-10, how weird are you?

The limit of [x^2 – 2/(x-1)] as x approaches 1 from the left. Wink, wink.

11. What kind of music do you listen to?

Too many to mention, oh em.

Questions from Jedidja

1. Why and when did your start blogging?

I started blogging on December 17, 2015. Why? Again, kindly refer to this blog post.

2. What is your favorite reading spot?

My bed.

3. Where do you buy most of your books?

As mentioned earlier, I’ve never actually bought a book for myself.

4. What is your biggest pet peeve?

I have three. When people use the wrong form of they’re/their/there, your/you’re, we’re/were/where, who/whose/who’s, who/whom. When people say “anyways”, which isn’t even a legitimate word, instead of “anyway”. And when people shorten my name (e.g. Shea, Lea, Shee, She, Shelly) or refer to me as “girl.”

5. What is your reading goal for this year? (For example a certain amount of books you want to read or a challenge you want to attend this year)

I intend to finish reading 69 books this year. For more of my reading goals, kindly refer to this post.

6. What is the last book you finished reading? Did you like it?

Schooled by Piper Lawson. It was really more of a ‘meh’ read; however, I did find myself enjoying the tidbits of engineering humor and dirty physics jokes.

7. What is the worst book you ever read? Why?

Numbers by Rachel Ward. The characters were idiots, the plot didn’t make any sense, the actual storyline was so ridiculously far from the book’s synopsis, the heroine’s supposed superhuman ability was never actually utilized in the story, the character development was nonexistent, the ending sucked – basically, the book had zero redeeming qualities.

8. What is your dream job?

To become a globally competent engineer. Truthfully, I don’t really know the specifics yet.

9. Who is your favorite author?

Julie Kagawa, Rachel Hollis, and Marie Lu.

10. How would you describe yourself in 5 words?

Don’t make me do that. (Word count: 5)

11. What is your favorite book quote?

We believe in ordinary acts of bravery, in the courage that drives one person to stand up for another.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Blogger Recognition Award

Rules:

1. Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to. Do some digging if you must! Find those blogs. You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you.
2. Write a post to show off your award! Give a brief story of how your blog got started and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post.
3. Make sure to also attach the award itself! (You can do this by right-clicking, saving, and uploading the image above).
4. Comment on each blog and let them know you’ve nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created.
5. Provide a link to the original post on Edge of Night. That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

Advice to New Bloggers:

Oh my, I’ve only been blogging for a tad bit over a month! I don’t think I’m the most qualified person to give advice. Seriously, I’m still learning the ropes. However, here are the things I’ve learned so far:

1. Just go for it! Okay, it sounds quite vague. What I mean is: don’t be afraid to freely express your opinion about a book, don’t be afraid to post things that aren’t completely book-related, don’t be afraid to comment on other bloggers’ sites, don’t be afraid to pursue your ideas and projects, don’t be afraid to contact authors or publishers, don’t be afraid to dream big and to be ambitious, don’t be afraid of setting goals for yourself, don’t be afraid of trying out genres you aren’t familiar with, don’t be afraid to write what you want, and don’t be afraid to be yourself. Seriously, whatever it is you have your heart set on, just go for it!

2. It is perfectly okay to write bad reviews. Writing glowing reviews on books you found zero enjoyment in cripples your credibility as a reviewer. Always keep in mind that there is a fine line between being honest and being unnecessarily rude. Find that sweet spot, okay? Okay.

3. Visit other bloggers! It’s easier to blog about things when you have a circle of friends to support your endeavors. The blogging community is extremely welcoming, so it really isn’t difficult to find a set of lovely people you can approach.

4. Be patient. Having a well-established blog doesn’t quite happen overnight. It truly takes time. Keep putting yourself out there and involving yourself in communities and activities and whatever else you can think of!

5. Don’t let the rejection dishearten you. Every now and then, you may want to ask an author or a publisher for an Advanced Reading Copy (ARC) of a certain book. ARCs are quite tricky to come by as they are limited in number and the selection process is significantly meticulous. As such, rejection can’t always be avoided. Don’t let it get you down. Keep trying!

6. Have fun with it! Seriously. There’s no point in pursuing something you find no pleasure in.

Beautiful Book Blogger Award

Rules:

1. Link to the blogger who gave you the award.
2. State seven random facts about yourself.
3. Nominate other people & notify them of the nomination!

Seven Random Facts:

1. My name is pronounced as /She-lei-yuh/ which means that yes, the first ‘a’ in my name is silent.

2. Even though I’ve been studying in the University of the Philippines – Diliman, I have yet to visit all of the buildings. Also, I still get lost every now and then.

3. Receiving a phone call from an extremely drunk person is on my life bucket list.

4. I’m from Pampanga, Philippines but I cannot speak in our native tongue, Kapampangan.

5. I have never completely watched any of the Lord of the Rings movies. The same holds true for Titanic.

6. I’ll be turning twenty years old this coming August. Eww, I feel really old.

7. I still watch Pokemon.

Nominations (for all three awards!!!)

Em @ The Argle Bargle, Sara @ Freadom Library, Jam @ Heartscent Reads, Christine @ Tine’s Reviews, Shea @ Bookish Wanderlust, Jonas @ Other Things, Bea @ When Curiosity Killed the Cat, Lila @ The Bookkeeper’s Secrets, Isabella @ Gryffindor Books, Rachel @ The True Blue Chew, Jaymee @ Bookciology, Summer @ Xingsings, Claire @ Blank Slaters, Liam @ Liam’s Library, Sarah @ Reviews for No One, Jess @ Paper Utopia

Questions for Liebster

1. What is the worst pun or pick-up line you know?
2. In your opinion, book with the most surprising ending and why?
3. What genre do you usually steer clear of and why?
4. What is the perfect beverage to accompany you while reading?
5. What are your thoughts on ice cream? (This will determine how compatible we are as friends.)
6. Fictional character you admire and/or look up to the most? Elaborate.
7. What kind of career do you want for yourself?
8. What is the first movie that made you cry (or at least made you teary-eyed)?
9. What is your favorite facial expression to make whenever you take a selfie?
10. If you could eat just one dessert for the rest of your life, what would it be?
11. What is one fear you’re hoping to overcome someday?

All right, that’s it! Yay.

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

26 thoughts on “Liebster Award + Blogger Recognition Award + Beautiful Blogger Award”

  1. Aww, thanks so much for the nominations, Shealea! I already did the Liebster award several times so it’s likely I won’t be doing another one. But to answer some of your questions… I consider all pick up lines to be very bad. The most surprising ending for me was City of Bones. I remember reading that as a preteen and was like this :O for some time. I only recovered when I got the next installments, haha. As for a fear I want to overcome… it’d have to be probably public speaking (because I’m not overcoming my fear of sharks, like ever). I’m taking a speech course this semester and hopefully it’ll help me get better at addressing an audience if not overcome the fear. A fictional character I really love and sort of look up to is Jem Carstairs from The Infernal Devices trilogy. He seems to be so innately good and kind. I really admire his selflessness. Oh and you should watch Titanic! I always end up crying when I watch that film. I haven’t read or seen Lord of the Rings yet… One day hopefully that will change though. Anyway, it was nice reading more about you and, again, thanks of the lovely nominations! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re absolutely welcome! Your blog is seriously magnificent and truth be told, you’re kind of “#goals”. Hahaha! Anyway. Thanks for answering some of my questions. ☺ I wish you all the best as you get over your fear of public speaking. I have the same fear!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on the well-deserved awards! (This must have taken you so long, I admire your patience!) Your blog is seriously amazing! That physics text-book quote is so philosophical. Kind of strange for that type of book but nice. You need to get on Titanic and LOTR ASAP. Literally, both of those are top five favourite movies for me. Chewy cookies and ice-cream are the best! Thanks for the nomination, it means a lot 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yep, it did take a couple of hours. 😂

      I’ll definitely give LOTR another go, but I can’t promise anything about Titanic. That movie puts me to sleep. Haha! And it’s not a problem. Your blog is absolutely fantastic and you deserve so much more! 😊😊

      Like

  3. I was being to wonder where you were! Well done for those awards, you sure deserve them! And thank you so much for the nomination, it means a lot. Now, do some reviews, I’m missing them! 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What can I say? I totally underestimated how life (yes, not just time, but LIFE) consuming college is. 😂 I’m glad to be back! Even if it is quite brief.

      You’re absolutely welcome! You’re a fantastic blogger and you deserve to be recognized for it. ☺ I expect you to have claimed the awards by the time I finish the review I’m currently working on. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You and your blog are definitely deserving of these awards. These answers were great! I didn’t know the ‘anyways’ thing, so thanks for pointing that out. I promise I’ll never do it again hahaha 😁
    I absolutely don’t deserve that nomination, but I’m honoured that you thought of me. That aside, I want to say that you are doing an amazing with your blog and I’m always happy to read your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you so much! That means a lot. 💕 And what do you mean you don’t deserve it? Your blog is off to a pretty great start! It deserves to be recognized. I really hope you consider doing a couple of the awards as well. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. HAHAHA that textbook quote. That’s actually so beautiful. And true (not just in a physics sense but in a metaphorical sense. I totally feel you in the awkward-to-talk-about-yourself thing. I think it’s why I’ve fallen so behind on awards and tags and everything, but seeing your post totally motivates me to get on it! Thanks for the nomination(s)! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right? My textbook in chemistry has a few metaphors and philosophical passages as well. Pretty amusing. 😂 I really hope you decide to do a few awards! I can’t wait to read your answers. 😊

      (And you’re welcome! Your blog is genuinely spectacular!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha, I can totally see that. Like, entropy?? The universe naturally favors being chaotic?? That’s pretty deep. (Sorry, science nerding out 😉 )

        And thank you (again!) Your blog is spectacular-er 🙂 I will definitely get my awards act together soon.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh em, yes! Exactly. I have a love/hate relationship with thermodynamics. There’s a certain depth to everything that surpasses its scientific applications. It’s pretty cool. (And never apologize for science nerding! I’m an engineering student, which means I 100% welcome it. HAHAHA.)

          Also, I’m looking forward to it. Good luck, Isabella!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It’s so cool that you’re an engineering student! Chemical engineering, too, which is one of the coolest engineering types to me :). I 100% agree, thermodynamics is the worst but also kinda cool

            Like

Your two cents?

