First Month of Blogging!

I never quite understood all the hype and excitement over monthsaries, particularly the romantic kind. Ones wherein couples celebrate by posting photo collages of their selfies together with a novel-length, sentimental caption that features a hundred kissy-faced emojis. Yeah, that one. I mean, a month consists of 30 or 31 days. That’s like 1/12 of an entire year. Now, if these couples intend (or at least, hope to, I guess) to spend the rest of their years still madly in love with each other, that little fraction is kind of statistically insignificant in the grander scheme of things. If we really think about it, that is. Don’t glare at me. Blame the math. I just pointed it out.

Regardless, as I type this, I think I finally get what all the fuss is about. Or at least a portion of it. I think. Whatever. Disregard my entire rant, and let’s get down to business to defeat the Huns.

It’s January 17, 2016!!!

Which means it’s been exactly one month since I first started That Bookshelf Bitch. (Segue: Coincidentally, it also means that tomorrow is my first day of classes in college. Wonderful.) Allow me to repeat myself: I now have four weeks worth of blogging experience! I know, it’s pretty insignificant statistics-wise, but fuck it, I’m deliriously happy! Let’s all take a brief moment to join our hands together, share some virtual cookies and revel in the ridiculous bliss I’m feeling right now.

Done?

Now, for that one crucial question: What now?

Statistics?

I know, I know. There’s more to blogging than blog statistics. I agree. My entire blogging experience so far transcends words and numbers. However, as an engineering student, it’s been drilled into my nature to quantify plenty of things, including the progress of this blog since Day 1. And as a self-proclaimed neat freak, I am susceptible to making lists and organizing things.

Timeline:
December 17, 2015 – Start of blogging
December 31, 2015 – First two weeks of blogging
January 02, 2016 – 1,000 site visits and views
January 05, 2016 – 100 followers
January 07, 2016 – Hey, I finally got Kindle!
January 09, 2016 – Posted 10th review (Defects by Sarah Noffke)
January 17, 2016 – First month of blogging

Overall statistics since December 17, 2015:
Posts: 17 (including this one)
Views: 2,789
Highest number of views in a day: 211
Visitors: 982
Likes: 328
Comments: 254
Followers: 235
Review requests received: 13

Features?

I’ve been toying around with a few ideas for weeks now. Obviously, there are a lot – seriously, a lot – of blogs that are extremely similar to mine, blogs that are also dedicated to book reviews and discussions. As such, I felt the need to come up with something that will effectively set me apart. Something I can call as my own. Something else I can offer to readers and authors and everyone else who gives this blog the time of day. With all that said, I’ve decided to introduce two new features to my blog.

To be honest, I haven’t quite figured everything out yet. And these are nowhere near finalized. But I am currently working on them and genuinely hope that they eventually come into fruition. For now, let me give you a few ideas regarding what I’ve been working on.


Sixty-Nine Sunday: Sixty-Nine Sunday is a monthly blogging prompt. Specifically, it aims to cultivate and to celebrate the creativity and individuality of bloggers and aspiring writers. The mechanics of this challenge is as follows:

1. Once a month, a theme will be released on a Sunday (or in some cases, Saturday). Themes will range from simple details (e.g. a book with a title that starts with a letter S) to more creative prompts that are open to any interpretation (e.g. a book you’d want to sleep with).

2. Pick out a book that suits the given theme. You are not obligated to explain how your chosen book falls under the theme, but you are free to do so.

3. Proceed to either page 69 of the book or 69% of the book’s total number of pages. Pick out a line, a dialogue or an excerpt from that particular page.

4. Whatever line/dialogue/excerpt chosen is to serve as your writing prompt. From there, write anything related to your prompt. This may be, but is not limited to, an essay, a short story, poetry, or song lyrics. You may also write your opinion of the book that contains the prompt, and you may also use the prompt as a means to reflect on yourself. Basically, you are free to write pretty much anything, provided that what you write is still somehow related to the prompt (although the reference need not be blatantly obvious). The goal is to allow the prompt to inspire you to write and to write as creatively and as liberally as possible.

5. To officially participate in this challenge, share your chosen prompt and include the product of your writing in a blog post. Make sure that you include “Sixty-Nine Sunday” in the title of your post and that you link back to Shealea’s post (the one containing the theme) so that others can join in as well. Afterwards, leave the link of your submission via comment for all of us to read!

6. After each challenge, Shealea will pick out three incredibly written submissions at random, and the authors will be featured in the next Sixty-Nine Sunday.


Project IDEA: Project IDEA (Independent Deserving Emerging Authors) is a small program which aims to provide underappreciated authors a moment to bask in the spotlight they so rightfully deserve. I believe that there are numerous types of underappreciated authors. The term itself is quite vague, you see. I mean, on what specific grounds can an author be classified as underappreciated? After a lot of contemplation, I’ve decided that Project IDEA will accommodate the following: self-published authors (independent), published authors with promising talent but are hardly recognized (deserving), and debut authors (emerging).

Specifically, authors will be given a variety of opportunities – features, interviews, the privilege of writing a guest post in my blog, the opportunity to conduct a giveaway, promotional posts, and several others.

Truthfully, I’m aware that this is a rather ambitious endeavor, especially given that I’ve only started blogging recently. However, I am already working on this in the hopes that I’d eventually become well-established enough in the community to pull this off and to be able to extend the assistance these authors need.


So there you have it! Everything is basically pretty rough around the edges. A definite work in progress, if you will. Let me know your thoughts! And do let me know if you’re interested in participating. That’d be awesome! Also, and most importantly, thank you for everything so far! I am absolutely overwhelmed and humbled.

P.S. Keep your eyes open for my upcoming reviews for the following books: Forgetting August by J.L. Berg, The Light of Day by Kristen Kehoe, and Gambit by C.L. Denault.

Twitter: @bookshelfbitchInstagramGoodreadsBloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

45 thoughts on “First Month of Blogging!”

  1. Good job! You’ve got such a lovely group of followers! I know how hard to is with getting yourself out their. I actually never understood why bloggers celebrated anniversaries… My first year is coming up really soon and I haven’t really thought much about it! :p I’m more major perfectionist so many of my posts are actually categorised and have the same layout! Extreme, right? 😀 Good luck! I hope to see more of your stuff in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know. I’m so lucky to have encountered so many wonderful people!

      Also, I totally get you. I’m such a neat freak and a perfectionist. Sometimes, I drive myself insane, thinking of ways how to better organize and arrange the content of my blog. 😂

      Thank you! 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  2. CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR 1 MONTH BIRTHDAY!! You’ve reached so many milestones after just one month – it’s so impressive! When I had been blogging for one month, my highest amount of pageviews was probably 10, haha 😀

    Both of those features sound so cool! I especially like Project IDEA – I’d really like to discover some new authors, as I’m always on the hunt for new books to read! They sound really cool, so I look forward to when you launch them.

    Good luck for the rest of your blogging journey! Thanks for sharing this with us 🙂
    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the milestones after such a short period, Shealea! Also, good luck with all your bookish and blogging aspirations. And, out of curiosity, what kind of Kindle did you get? How do you like it? I’m currently using one of the older versions of the Kindle Fire and the glare is really bothering me when I read it outside. I seriously considering an upgrade; I’m between the 2015 Paperwhite and 2014 Voyage. I really can’t decide!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it is perfectly fine to acknowledge monthsaries and other related occasions, but people should stop putting them on such pedestals. It’s kind of silly, especially given the fact that they’re hardly milestones. 😂 Anyway. Thank you! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations!! Your blog stats are better than mine, and I’ve been blogging for almost half a year, lol. But anyways, your new project ideas sound very intriguing and I can’t wait to see them!! 🙂

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

  5. See, this is why you’re kicking butt at this blogging thing. I’ve been wracking my brain since August of last year for something unique and special to do as a feature and here you are with two AMAZING ideas that not only involves you, but also bloggers and authors. Like why you tryin to stand me up girl? hahaha I’m just kidding. I’m so glad you made this blog and CONGRATS on a month of blogging! So excited to see you take over the blogosphere and be a book household name haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never realized I was such a threat. 😉 Haha, kidding! Seriously, you’re one of the sweetest bloggers I’ve ever met. Your comments never fail to make me smile. 😊 It’s practically your superpower! HAHA. Thank you so much! I can only hope that my blog will be as kickass as yours one day. You’re incredible. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations on your anniversary! I know what you mean about 1 month anniversaries in relationships, but in blogging its such an accomplishment! I’m so glad you are part of this community. Maybe you can give me tips on how you got to 100 followers in less than a month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you! I’m so glad I decided to join the community. Everyone has been tremendously supportive so far! 😊 Oh my, I don’t think I’m the right person to ask tips from. But I’m flattered. 😂

      Like

  7. GAHMAHA! GAMBIT! *.* I’m so looking forward to reading your review of it because I LOVE IT! *isn’t a fangirl at all* >.>

    Anyway! Congrats! This is really awesome! Your blog is doing so well and it looks like you have some GREAT ideas for what you want to do in the future with the blog. Amazing success and ambition is what gets people places. If you weren’t ambitious, it wouldn’t go anywhere, am I right? That being said, I look forward to your posts in the future, your prompts, and I hope Project IDEA works for you. It sounds great! *hopes to be on Project IDEA some day* :p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Head’s up, I loved Gambit as well! 😊 I am really looking forward to reviewing it. Right after I finish Forgetting August. HAHA.

      Anyway. Thank you! And I’m glad you’re excited about Project IDEA. I hope to see you there as well someday. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

