Book Challenges for 2016

More appropriate title: HOW TO GET AWAY WITHMURDEROUT A SOCIAL LIFE 2016.

I think I speak for plenty of college students when I say: Oh my god, I have nearly nonexistent time management skills. Personally, I’ve always struggled with finding that balance – that perfect blend of doing well in my studies, having an active and colorful social life while indulging myself with hobbies and interests, that stable state where none of my commitments, responsibilities or passions overpower each other. In other words, I’ve always found it difficult to determine my, for a lack of a better term and I swear, I’m not purposefully trying to sound like a massive nerd, triple point.

In a phase diagram, the triple point of a particular substance indicates the necessary temperature and pressure at which the three states of that substance all exist in thermodynamic equilibrium. At this point, solid, liquid and gas are capable of coexisting simultaneously.

Similarly, in order to balance out my academic workload, love for reading and writing and other equally paramount obligations, I need to find the appropriate conditions. With the right combination of effort and proper time management, all the things I care deeply about can coexist and be given the priority they deserve.

Now truthfully, I’ve never been one to establish a concrete, detailed plan. I’ve never been one to rely on a methodical approach to accomplishing a goal or in solving a problem. Unless the problem involves mathematics, physics and/or chemistry, but that’s another topic altogether. I digress. The point is, I’m the kind of person who constantly tries to come up with a solid plan or a specific pathway but always ends up telling herself, “Never mind. I’ll just wing it.”

Winging it is a fair play, in my opinion. It works 50/50. Sometimes, it’s enough. Sometimes, it really isn’t. However, for the incoming year, I don’t think it would be wise to play with those kinds of odds. You see, this coming academic term will be my second semester as a 3rd year college student. Afterward, it’ll be my midyear break and then my first semester as a 4th year college student. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. What exactly does the 3rd year, 2nd semester mean for a chemical engineering student? Ideally, it means that I am a little over halfway finished with the degree program (In the University of the Philippines, BS Chemical Engineering is a 5-year program). And what does this entail? To put it bluntly, bloody difficult engineering subjects with an insanely hectic schedule to boot.

Basically (and I cannot possibly emphasize this enough), it is absolutely crucial that I do well in my majors this coming semester. However, despite this, I don’t have the heart to put a long hiatus on my reading or to give up on a book blog I’ve just started recently. Just as Miko Jin in Smart Girl, I will be stubborn enough to make this relationship work (though I’d also appreciate having a Liam Ashton of my own). Just like Kenders when she was separated from the love of her life in Nirvana, I will do whatever it takes to get what I want. Okay, I think I’ve made my point. I am very determined to see this through, to finally reach my triple point.

Anyway.

Earlier today, I stumbled upon Nori @ ReadWriteLove28’s post regarding the ultimate list of 2016 challenges. Almost immediately, I felt like taking part in some of these challenges will surely keep me motivated and determined in pushing through with my personal reading goals.

Without further ado, here is the list of challenges I’ve decided to participate in for 2016!

That’s a total of twelve reading challenges ​if I’m not mistaken. As for my Goodreads reading challenge, I’m hoping to finish at least 69 (my level of maturity is real πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚) books this year. I know, I know. I’m very ambitious. But I am actually quite excited to see how all these challenges turn out! I’ve already started thinking about plausible books to read.

To keep track of my progress for every challenge, this page will be updated accordingly. Wish me luck! πŸ˜ŠπŸ“šβ€οΈ

Twitter: @bookshelfbitch ‧ Instagram ‧ Goodreads ‧ Bloglovin’

Published by

Shealea

First of her name. Queen of millennials and the constantly caffeinated. Protector of books. Breaker of norms. Iskolar ng bayan.

70 thoughts on “Book Challenges for 2016”

  1. I’ve only signed up for the Goodreads Reading Challenge so far, I’ve set it at 53 books so one a week. I tried to do more challenges last year but then felt like such a failure when J ran out of motivation/time, so I’m keeping it simple at the moment. I like the sound of Anna’s ‘New To You’ challenge though – Marissa Meyer, Sarah J Maas and Laini Taylor have all yet to make it off my TBR pile sadly. Hope these challenges help you balance your life a bit better in 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely know what you mean by losing motivation or time. And I haven’t read the books of those authors either. πŸ˜… Anyway. I wish you all the best in your goals this year. Happy reading!

      Like

  2. First of all, thanks for stopping by and liking one of my book reviews. Second, the Net Galley challenge looks interesting and I am going to give it a go this year! Regards and Happy reading! Jim

    Like

  3. Wow! I agree with you. I really have a hard time balancing my goodreads challenge with my social and school life. I’m currently taking up BS in Graphic Design and Multimedia in DLSU-D. I struggling to do my plates and school projects while catching up with my blogs, bookstagram and of course reading. I remember that time when I really want to just read during finals week and I didn’t study at all. Yeah which is really bad. My tip for you is to always bring a book or even an ebook so that you could read even just one chapter during break or whenever you free or waiting for your class. I sometimes read on the bus and jeep because I have 2 hours of commute but I don’t recommend it because It’ll give you headache. Just listen to audiobook. Anyway, I’ll add you on fb. We could talk and fangirl about stuffs. hahaha! If that’s okay with you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! There’s so many that come to mind, to be honest. Emily Henry’s The Love that Split the World, Kiera Cass’ The Crown, to name a few. But right now, I’m just focusing on decreasing my TBR pile. πŸ˜‚ What about you? Oh and happy new year to you as well! πŸŽ‰

      Like

    1. Yep, thanks again for sharing that list of challenges! I’m so excited to start! 😊 Good luck with your challenges and your blogging goals as well. Happy new year! πŸŽ‰

      Like

  4. i totally empathize! i’m a 3rd year physics student at northwestern university and life is tough but i like to challenge mmyself just to keep reading! best of luck! (awesome blog btw!)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Goodness gracious that is quite the array of reading challenges. I wish you the best of luck! I feel ambitious with four reading challenges. :p I’m not even sure I’ll get those finished. Haha! I look forward to your progress and it looks like we may be participating in similar challenges. ^.^ (Dystopia & Finish the Series)

    Oh gosh! Comment on 365 blogs?! That’s intense! How do you even keep track? :p That’s quite the ambitious goal.

    And I would totally participate in Netgalley with you, but I have way too many books to finish as is that I’m trying to stay away from Netgalley for a while. *sigh* But that’ll be fun. Lots of new books! ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, I know. I’ve gone insane. πŸ˜‚ But I’m really glad we have similar challenges! We can totally root for each other and encourage each other to accomplish the reading challenges. Like, whenever either of us gets unmotivated to continue, the other can go all, “Um, no. Get off your lazy arse and get some reading done!” πŸ˜‚

      Anyway. I’m so excited to see how this all turns out, and I look forward to seeing how you progress in your four challenges! Good luck, happy reading and happy new year! πŸŽ‰

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Good luck miss! I only did 1 but I may do the netgalley as I think I have 22. I read about 10 books a week depending.
    What’s your top 5 paranormal authors? I’m always looking for new ones especially what series to sink into.
    #1 is Bianca D’ Arc as she has about I think 20 books under her belt all in this 1 world interconnected but different series.
    #2 Dana Marie Bell another brilliant author who has a few series in the same world and like her idea on Nefliphim and wizards.
    #3 Any of Kathi Barton’s series
    #4 Mandy M. Roth her Ops series works and many other series.
    #5 Can’t remember who writes it but Others of Edenton & Others of Seattle is pretty good.

    Like

    1. Oh my, thank you very much for the recommendations! I’ll definitely check them out. 😊 Truthfully, I’ve only recently started to get back into reading. For the most part of the year, I had the worst possible reading slump, so I’m not as up to date with paranormal authors. I’m so sorry. But if I do come across someone, I’ll tell you right away. Happy new year! πŸŽ‰

      Like

      1. Thanks! I signed up for the Finishing the Series one; 2016 New Release; Pick Your Genre and the Read My Own Damn Books one. I’m thinking about signing up for the New to You Challenge as well. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  7. “HOW TO GET AWAY WITHOUT A SOCIAL LIFE 2016.”

    LOL. So true… I have to remind myself that it’s not appropriate to stare down my friends at work when they interrupt my audio books… Good luck with your challenges!! Very ambitious, but you’ll rock it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my. Every now and then, I get so caught up in a book that I try reading it while walking around campus (all my subjects are in different buildings that are quite a distance away from each other). My friends always end up pulling my arm just to stop me from getting run over or hitting a tree! Thank God they’re so patient with me. πŸ˜‚ Anyway, thank you so much! And Happy New Year! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  8. These are some pretty ambitious goals, Shealea! I haven’t done challenges before (aside from my annual Goodreads one), but this sounds like fun. I’m a pretty slow reader so I probably won’t try them any time soon though. And oh gosh, I have a couple of friends in chemical and biomedical engineering. It’s a tough path that’s for sure, but very worthwhile in the end! All the best to you and happy new year!

    Liked by 1 person

Your two cents?

